TIPC

实现绿色新政博客系列,2021 年 2 月:将住房改造作为绿色交易的优先事项

Thinking & Analysis

2021 年 2 月 版

 

“很明显,自上而下地承诺对绿色交易改造计划进行大量投资只是一个开始。它必须伴随着有效的变革实施模式,以实现成功的过渡。让当地利益相关者和公民参与的系统性基于地点的方法至关重要。”

在整个欧洲正在制定的后 Covid 恢复计划中,对住房系统的可持续性数据进行改造。他们承诺“重建得更好、更环保”。系统向可持续性的过渡需要一种新型的变革性政策和政治。这与近几十年以紧缩为主导、以市场为导向的创新政策截然不同。它需要通过新的个人和社区以及企业联盟来更新“动手”的公共目标。

新兴项目显示了对近期利用我们所知道的知识的可喜关注,以应对两个主要的短期挑战: 在 2030 年前为气候紧急情况大幅减排;并从 2021 年开始创造大量就业机会,以修复 Covid 危机。 绿色交易风格的长达十年的计划可以应对这些双重挑战。改造我们的建筑环境是一项计划,最近的大量专家研究表明,它可以实现两个迫切需要的目标。

最新的欧盟委员会文件清楚地列出了专注于建筑翻新的所有优势 '欧洲的革新浪潮——绿化我们的建筑、创造就业机会、改善生活。 装修工程是劳动密集型的,创造就业机会,投资植根于当地供应链。他们帮助当地经济,因为这是一个超过 90% 的运营商是小公司的行业。低碳解决方案的设计、安装和运营通常需要良好的技术知识水平,从而在当地经济中提供新的技能工作。这提供了学徒制和其他形式的基于工作的学习,例如日间释放,通过针对改造议程的绿色职业培训课程帮助年轻人进入劳动力市场。

大多数知情的政策专家都同意这是必要的,尽管他们之间在优先级方面存在显着差异。比尔·盖茨的“绿色宣言”更加强调为钢铁和混凝土等“难以脱碳”的能源密集型行业寻找技术驱动的解决方案。毫无疑问,像“绿色氢”这样的解决方案的未来前景值得政策投资和关注。然而,它们属于传统的供给侧产业和创新政策的舒适区。一个严肃的“新政”风格的建筑改造计划不适合这个空间。它以用户为导向,解决能源效率问题,并转变基于地点的系统而不是工业部门。关于此类计划的中心地位,仍有待争取的政治论据。虽然领导绿色协议政策和实施的欧盟专员弗兰斯·蒂默曼斯承认其至关重要,但许多政治家和政策制定者对其重视程度较低。此外,仔细观察会发现令人不安的政策混乱,即如何快速完成翻新和翻新计划。鉴于其至关重要的重要性,建筑环境过渡的节奏拼凑和进展的可变性令人深感不安。

外包的、自上而下的、个人主义的“户主即消费者”模式记录不佳。英国政府不可救药地依附于这种方法。上个十年之初,卡梅伦联合政府的旗舰计划,即名副其实的“绿色协议”渴望成为“欧洲最具创新性和变革性的能源效率计划”[1]  其 200 万套改造房屋的年度目标仅难以达到 6,000 套(<1%)。它通过一家独立金融公司进行私人贷款的模式并没有实现。在鲍里斯·约翰逊的 10 点“绿色工业革命”计划中启动的绿色家园补助计划已外包给美国全球咨询公司 ICF。在第一年承诺的 15 亿英镑中, 仅花费了 7100 万英镑(<5%).相比之下,德国建筑转型更为成功,其大型翻新和改造计划涉及代表建筑工人、市政当局、社区和租户组织、银行和供应公司的参与者联盟。[2] 最近关于法国恢复计划的讨论试图将“一站式”资金获取的优点与“领土平台”和“能源信息空间”的创新结合起来。

这里有一个重要的政策教训。集中的、自上而下的方法并不是应对气候变化等重大社会挑战的答案。绿色复苏的核心应该是设定国家可持续发展目标的过渡计划,但要下放预算以使地方能够与当地利益相关者合作设计适合其需求的举措。这意味着寻求制定邻里计划,以便一起翻新整条街道,而不是仅仅依靠个人自住业主为自己的家庭申请单一补助金。社区方法将带来规模经济;与经批准的承包商一起批准经认可的计划;使改造能够与锅炉更换和可再生能源装置一起进行;引入智能数字设备;和路边车辆充电基础设施。

很明显,自上而下地承诺对绿色交易改造计划进行大量投资只是一个开始。它必须伴随着有效的变革实施模式,以实现成功的过渡。让当地利益相关者和公民参与的系统性基于地点的方法至关重要。这对于实现全面吸收是必要的,这是任何计划的最低目标。它还提供了地方创新和实验的前景,以提供社区和就业共同利益,这是绿色交易政策范式的核心。

弗雷德·斯图尔特,乔恩·布卢姆菲尔德

 

[1] 格雷格·巴克。 2011 年 6 月 20 日;英国国内绿色交易和能源公司义务,月度报告。能源与气候变化部; Jan Rosenow 和 Nick Eyre 绿色交易的事后分析:紧缩、能源效率和英国能源政策的失败 能源研究与社会科学 21 (2016) 141–144

[2] 联邦经济事务和能源部,2015 年建筑能效战略;弗雷德·斯图尔特 以行动为导向的系统创新和转型观点, EEA Report 25/2017 Perspectives on Transitions to Sustainability European Environment Agency ISSN 1977-8449 Ch 5 pp96-118 (2018)

 

本系列博客的编辑是建筑与城市学院名誉教授 Fred Steward, 威斯敏斯特大学, 伦敦;和 Jon Bloomfield,系统创新政策顾问,气候创新生态系统, 欧洲理工学院气候知识与创新社区 (EIT Climate-KIC).

 

 

2 thoughts on “Making the Green New Deal Happen Blog Series, February 2021: Make Renovation in Housing a Green Deal Priority

  1. 感谢这一点——其核心是一种金融机制,用于解锁社区负担得起的贷款计划。将地方当局、社区财富和当地银行聚集在一起——你在这方面有什么进展吗?

    我们的项目 http://www.communiheat.org 正在将整个社区聚集在一起……您能提供帮助或将其用作案例研究吗?

    乐于讨论07870 689978

  2. 奥利,
    无国界银行家的鲁弗斯·格兰瑟姆和他的同事正在研究这个主题。他们正在与英国和整个欧洲的城市和社区建立联系。最近的两项工作是“绿色社区即服务——大规模改造的机制”和“城市应对净零碳转型的创新金融”。
    在我们的下一篇博客中,我们将对他们的想法进行简短的总结。
    同时,请通过以下方式与 BWB 联系
    rufus.grantham@bwbuk.org;或者 https://www.linkedin.com/in/rufus-grantham/
    我认为他们和他们的同事会有兴趣跟进。

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Making the Green New Deal Happen Blog Series, February 2021: Make Renovation in Housing a Green Deal Priority

Blog

February 2021 Edition

 

“It is clear that a top down commitment to substantial investment in a green deal renovate programme is only the start. It must be accompanied by an effective transformative model of implementation, in order to enable a successful transition.  A systemic place-based approach, which engages local stakeholders and citizens is essential.”

The renovation of the housing system for sustainability figures in the post-Covid recovery programmes being developed across Europe. They promise to ‘build back better and greener’. System transitions to sustainability need a new type of transformative policy and politics. This is quite different to the austerity- led, market-oriented innovation policies of recent decades. It needs renewed ‘hands-on’ public purpose with new coalitions of individuals and communities as well as business.

The emerging programmes show a welcome focus on near-term exploitation of what we know in order to address two major short-term challenges: substantial emission reductions before 2030 for the climate emergency; and massive job creation from 2021 to repair the Covid crisis. Green Deal style decade long programmes can meet these twin challenges. Renovating our built environment is a programme, which a raft of recent expert studies have shown, can deliver both desperately needed targets.

All the advantages of focusing on building refurbishment are clearly laid out in the latest European Commission document A Renovation Wave for Europe – greening our buildings, creating jobs, improving lives.’ Renovation works are labour-intensive, create jobs and the investments are rooted in local supply chains. They help local economies since this is a sector where more than 90% of the operators are small companies. The design, installation and operation of low-carbon solutions often require good levels of technical knowledge, thereby offering new skilled jobs within local economies. This offers apprenticeships, and other forms of work-based learning like day release, to help young people into the labour market with green, vocational training courses geared to the renovation agenda.

Most informed policy experts agree that this is needed, though there are significant differences between them as to its priority.  Bill Gates’ ‘Green Manifesto’ places much more emphasis on the search for technologically driven solutions for the ‘hard to decarbonise’ energy intensive sectors, such as steel and concrete.  There is no doubt that the future promise of such solutions, like ‘green hydrogen’  deserve policy investment and attention. However, they fall in the comfort zone of traditional, supply-side industrial and innovation policy. A serious ‘new deal’ style of buildings renovation programme does not fit this space.  It is user oriented, addresses energy efficiency, and transforms a place-based system not an industrial sector. There remains a political argument to be won about the centrality of such programmes. While EU Commissioner Frans Timmermanns, who leads on Green Deal policy and implementation recognises its crucial importance, many politicians and policy-makers give it a lower priority.  Furthermore, a close look reveals disturbing policy confusion as to how speedy refurbishment and renovation programme can be achieved.  The patchwork in pace and the variability of progress in the built environment transition is deeply troubling given its crucial importance.

The contracted out, top down, individualistic ‘householder as consumer’ model has a poor record. The UK government is irredeemably attached to this approach. At the start of the last decade, the Cameron coalition government’s flagship scheme, the grossly misnamed ‘Green Deal‘ aspired to be  ‘Europe’s most innovative and transformational energy efficiency programme’[1]  Its annual target of 2 million retrofitted homes only struggled to reach 6,000 (<1%). Its model of private loans through an independent finance company did not deliver. The Green Homes Grant scheme launched in Boris Johnson’s 10 point ‘Green Industrial Revolution’ plan was contracted out to the US global consulting firm ICF.  Of the £1.5billion promised in its first year, only £71million (<5%) was spent. In contrast, the far more successful German buildings transition, with its  large refurbishment and retrofit programmes involves  a coalition of actors representing building workers, city authorities, community and tenants’ organisations, banks and supply companies.[2] Recent discussions on the recovery programme in France seek to combine the merits of a ‘one-stop shop’ access to funds with innovations in ‘territorial platforms’ and ‘energy information spaces’.

There is a crucial policy lesson here. Centralised, top-down methods are not the answer to tackling a great societal challenge like climate change. Central to green recovery should be transition programmes which set national sustainability targets but where budgets are devolved to enable localities to design initiatives appropriate to their needs, in partnership with local stakeholders. That means looking to develop neighbourhood schemes so that entire streets are renovated together, rather than sole reliance on individual owner-occupiers to apply for a single grant for their own household. A community approach would bring economies of scale; permit accredited programmes with approved contractors; enable retrofit to be undertaken along with boiler replacements and renewable energy installations; introduce smart, digital appliances; and on-street vehicle charging infrastructure.

It is clear that a top down commitment to substantial investment in a green deal renovation programme is only the start. It must be accompanied by an effective transformative model of implementation, in order to enable a successful transition. A systemic place-based approach, which engages local stakeholders and citizens, is essential. This is necessary to achieve full takeup, the minimal goal of any programme. It also offers the prospect of local innovation and experimentation  to deliver the community and employment co-benefits central to the green deal policy paradigm.

Fred Steward, Jon Bloomfield

 

[1] Greg Barker. 20 June 2011;  Domestic Green Deal and Energy Company Obligation in Great Britain, Monthly report. Department of Energy and Climate Change; Jan Rosenow & Nick Eyre A post mortem of the Green Deal: Austerity, energy efficiency, and failure in British energy policy Energy Research & Social Science 21 (2016) 141–144

[2] Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, Energy Efficiency Strategy for Buildings 2015; Fred Steward Action oriented perspectives on system innovation and transitions, EEA Report 25/2017 Perspectives on Transitions to Sustainability European Environment Agency ISSN 1977-8449 Ch 5 pp96-118 (2018)

 

The editors of this blog series are Fred Steward, Emeritus Professor, School of Architecture and Cities, University of Westminster, London; and Jon Bloomfield, Systems Innovation Policy Advisor, Climate Innovation Ecosystems, the European Institute of Technology’s Climate Knowledge & Innovation Community (EIT Climate-KIC).

 

 

2 thoughts on “Making the Green New Deal Happen Blog Series, February 2021: Make Renovation in Housing a Green Deal Priority

  1. Thanks for this – at the heart of this is a financial mechanism to unlock a loan scheme that is affordable for communities. Bringing together local authorities, community wealth and local banks – have you got any further with this?

    Our project http://www.communiheat.org is brining together a whole community…can you help or use it as a case study?

    Happy to discuss 07870 689978

  2. Ollie,
    Rufus Grantham and his colleagues at Bankers Without Boundaries are working precisely on this topic. They are linking up with cities and neighbourhoods in the UK and across Europe. Two recent pieces of work are ‘Green Neighbourhoods as a Service – a Mechanism for Retrofit at Scale’ and ‘Innovative Finance for Cities Tackling the Net Zero Carbon Transition.’
    In our next blog we shall have a shortened summary of their thinking.
    In the meantime, do get in touch with BWB at
    rufus.grantham@bwbuk.org; or https://www.linkedin.com/in/rufus-grantham/
    I think they and their colleagues would be interested in following up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

feedback_mix.png