TIPC

在北欧炉边:作为研究人员和政策制定者一起工作......

Thinking & Analysis

纵观历史,人们坐在火边创造意义。他们已经建立了故事;加深关系;并结合当天的共同经历。因此,在今年的 TIPC 故事章节中,很容易在首次亮相时进行非正式、舒适的炉边聊天,尽管是数字聊天 北欧学习活动 与来自芬兰、挪威和瑞典的政策制定者同事一起成为头条新闻……

 

我们的数字炉边会议是学习活动的晚间会议。它采用这种形式来替代更传统的(Covid 之前的)会议晚宴。 TIPC 组织团队想要捕捉下班后的一杯葡萄酒和 '你怎么样' 从这些空间中产生的对话。意识到我们的代表会揉着他们厌倦了 Zoom 的眼睛并在他们的家庭办公椅上移动,我们决定广播或播客的轻松风格将适合该法案。恰如其分地,它可以在房子的其他领域——如果你愿意的话,可以在炉边——一边喝着一杯葡萄酒或热巧克力,一边被共同理解的连通性温暖和启发。

包含炉边聊天的广播并不新鲜。在大萧条时期,罗斯福利用炉边聊天程序作为他的国家的一种策略,以安抚他们并在他们痛苦的时期提供咨询。在 TIPC,我们并没有完全声称要这样做,但我们希望为研究和政策人员在实现具有挑战性的转型工作时所面临的斗争提供一些启示和解脱。我们希望对话是开放、坦率的,并表达共同创造和在项目上合作的生活体验。

变革性创新政策 (TIP) 是关于在研究政策界面实现新知识、方法和工具。这是关于找到这些领域之间的最佳点。共同创造是其中的核心。与涉及人的一切一样,这个过程是复杂的、困难的、情绪化的、流动的和主观的。它需要开放和了解我们自己、我们的关系和我们的组织的能力。

在炉边会议(由我主持 - 杰拉尔丁·布卢姆菲尔德),TIPC 研究人员与政策制定者同事交谈,就共同创造动态提出问题,分享反思和轶事。有四个聊天,每个聊天都在下面突出显示,并介绍了所涵盖的主题和主题。

 

挪威炉边

我们从挪威的视角开始,由 伊丽莎白·古布兰森,挪威研究委员会的特别顾问。 Elisabeth 参与了 RCN 开发第三代科学和创新政策的实验,正如 TIP 经常提到的那样。这需要培养有利于伙伴关系和合作的模式、技能和能力。自 TIPC 成立以来,她一直支持和反对 TIPC,并且是 TIPC 理事会成员。伊丽莎白加入了 每科赫 谁是北欧研究和创新政策杂志的编辑 Forskningspolitikk.他还是北欧创新、研究和教育研究所的研究员。他曾与挪威教育和研究部以及挪威创新部合作。此外,他还积极参与欧盟、经合组织和联合国教科文组织的创新活动。

TIPC 研究员,Carla Alvial Palavicino,来自 乌得勒支大学全球挑战中心, 围绕他们对共同创造意味着什么以及为什么它重要的经验进行了讨论。有趣的是,他们的谈话让我们从“迷失”的概念开始——为什么承认在共同创造中迷失很重要,质疑我们的身份和标签作为其中的一部分,然后能够接触,倾听并向他人学习。那么我们如何以富有成效的方式“迷失”呢?

 

瑞典炉边

第二个炉边是在瑞典,Josefin Lundstrom 来自 瑞典创新机构 Vinnova 戴安娜·贝拉斯科 来自 TIPC 协调伙伴 英杰尼奥,讨论了瑞典的 TIP 实验对食品和卫生系统的挑战。 Josefin 在 Vinnova 担任分析师,负责管理他们不同的 TIPC 相关活动。自今年年初以来,她一直在密切合作 TIPC-Vinnova 项目 围绕 Vinnova 以任务为导向的活动进行形成性评估。戴安娜是 TIPC 研究团队的一员,致力于实验性政策参与 (EPE)。她一直在制定不同的策略来记录和加强实验中的学习。

他们讨论了共同创造本质上是如何困难的,但如果我们能够克服不可避免的“危机点”,它们对于能够实现二阶学习和新的理解至关重要。

 

芬兰炉边

随着我们的第三次炉边谈话,我们搬到芬兰来欢迎, 赫利·卡尔贾莱宁,芬兰商业公司战略支持服务高级总监。她负责芬兰商业的战略流程和影响分析。她是 TIPC 理事会成员,自 2016 年以来一直与 TIPC 合作,致力于学术和政策制定者共同创造转型的过程。

合力在炉边加入了 保拉·基维玛是芬兰环境研究所气候变化项目的博士研究教授,也是 TIPC 的长期研究合作者。宝拉以前在 TIPC 创始机构苏塞克斯大学科学政策研究部 (SPRU)。

Heli 和 Paula 从芬兰合作决策传统的角度,特别是从芬兰商业公司与工商界互动的角度讨论了共同创造的感受。

 

全欧洲的炉边

对于炉边结局,TIPC 的学术总监和创始人发表了真知灼见—— 约翰·肖特,乌得勒支大学全球历史和可持续发展研究教授。他与 Ed Steinmueller 教授的研究发起了该联盟,并继续将共同创造原则作为其核心。他是中央 欧洲理工学院气候知识与创新社区项目 (Climate-KIC),MOTION. 克里斯蒂安·马蒂 是 EIT Climate-KIC 的 Transitions Hub 负责人,在科学、政策和实践界面工作以促进创新和可持续发展。他一直在协调 MOTION 项目。

Johan 和 Cristian 在共同创造这个棘手的话题上有着丰富的合作经验,在这里他们反复思考——共同创造在实践中的真正含义是什么,以及它对转型的必要性如何?

At the Nordic Fireside: Working together as researchers and policymakers…

Blog

Throughout history people have sat by the fire and created meaning. They’ve established stories; deepened relationships; and bonded over shared experiences from the day.  So in this year’s chapter of the TIPC story, it was apt to have an informal, cozy fireside chat, albeit a digital one, at the debut Nordic Learning Event with our policymaker colleagues from Finland, Norway and Sweden headlining…

 

Our digital fireside session was the learning event’s evening session. It took on this form as a substitution for the more traditional (pre-Covid) conference dinner. The TIPC organising team wanted to capture an element of the after-work glass of wine and ‘how was it for you’ conversations that spring from these spaces. Realizing that our delegates would be rubbing their Zoom-weary eyes and shifting in their home office chairs, we decided the relaxed style of a radio or podcast would fit the bill. Aptly, it could be listened to in other realms of the house – the Fireside if you will – while sipping a glass of wine or hot chocolate, warmed and inspired by the connectivity of shared understandings.

Radio encompassing fireside chats is not new. Roosevelt employed fireside chat programmes as a tactic with his nation during the great depression to soothe and to counsel them through distressing times. At TIPC we were not quite claiming to do this, but we were hoping to give some light and release for the struggles that research and policy people face when aiming for the challenging job of transformation. We wanted the conversations to be open, frank, and to express the lived-experience of co-creation and working together on projects.

Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP) is about realizing new knowledge, approaches and tools at the research-policy interface. It is about finding the sweet spot between these spheres. Co-creation is at the heart of this.  As with everything involving people, the process is complex, difficult, emotional, fluid and subjective. It requires an openness and ability to learn about ourselves, our relationships and our organizations.

In the fireside session (hosted by me – Geraldine Bloomfield), TIPC researchers talked with policymaker colleagues to ask questions about the co-creation dynamic, to share reflection and anecdotes. There were four chats, each highlighted below with an introduction to the topics and themes covered.

 

The Norwegian Fireside

We began with the Norwegian perspective, provided by Elisabeth Gulbrandsen, a special adviser at the Research Council of Norway. Elisabeth is engaged with RCN’s experiments in developing, as TIP is often referred to, a third generation science and innovation policy. This entails fostering modality, skills and capacities conducive to partnerships and collaborations. She has been with, and against, TIPC since before its inception and is a TIPC governing board member. Elisabeth was joined by Per Koch who is Editor of the Nordic research and innovation policy magazine Forskningspolitikk. He is also a researcher at the Nordic Institute for Studies of Innovation, Research and Education. He has worked with The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research, and Innovation Norway. Additionally, he has been actively involved in EU, OECD and UNESCO innovation activities.

TIPC Research Fellow, Carla Alvial Palavicino from Utrecht University’s Centre for Global Challenges, led the discussion around their experience of what co-creation means and why it is important. Their conversation, interestingly, started us off with the concept of “being lost” – why acknowledging being lost in co-creation is important, questioning our identities and our labels as part of this, and then being able to reach out to, listen to and to learn from others. How then do we ‘get lost’ in a productive way?

 

The Swedish Fireside

The second fireside was in Sweden where, Josefin Lundstrom from Sweden’s innovation agency, Vinnova and Diana Velasco from TIPC coordinating partner INGENIO, discussed the challenges of Sweden’s TIP experiment on the food and health system. Josefin works as an analyst at Vinnova, and has managed their different TIPC related activities. Since the beginning of this year, she has worked intensively on the collaborative TIPC-Vinnova project around formative evaluation of Vinnova’s mission-oriented activities. Diana is part of the TIPC research team working on the Experimental Policy Engagement (EPE). She has been developing different strategies to record and enhance learning in the experiments.

They discuss how co-creation is inherently difficult, but if we can move through the inevitable ‘crisis points’ they become crucial to being able to achieve second-order learning and a new understandings.

 

The Finnish Fireside

With our third fireside chat, we relocated to Finland to welcome, Heli Karjalainen, a Senior Director of Strategic Support Services from Business Finland. She is responsible for the strategy process and Business Finland’s impact analysis. She is a TIPC governing board member and has worked with TIPC since 2016 on the process of academic and policymaker co-creation for transformation.

Heli was joined at the fireside by Paula Kivimaa, a PhD Research Professor for the Climate Change Programme at the Finnish Environment Institute, and a long-time TIPC research collaborator. Paula previously worked at the Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU) at the University of Sussex, TIPC’s founding institution.

Heli and Paula discussed how co-creation feels from the perspective of the Finnish tradition of collaborative policymaking, particularly from Business Finland’s perspective of interacting with business and industry.

 

The Europe-wide Fireside

For the fireside finale there were insights from TIPC’s Academic Director and Founder – Johan Schot, Professor of Global History and Sustainability Studies from Utrecht University. His research with Professor Ed Steinmueller launched the Consortium and continues to inform the co-creation principle at the heart of it. He is central to the European Institute of Technology’s Climate Knowledge & Innovation Community project (Climate-KIC), MOTION. Cristian Matti is Transitions Hub Lead at EIT Climate-KIC, and works at the science, policy and practice interface for innovation & sustainability. He has been coordinating the MOTION project.

Johan and Cristian have a lot of experience of working together on the sticky topic of co-creation, and here they chew over – what does co-creation really mean in practice and how it is so necessary for transformation?

feedback_mix.png