TIPC

对变革性创新政策工具的思考(第 10 组)

Thinking & Analysis

在 TIPC 会议第 2 天的主要参与活动中,参与者组的任务是就特定主题进行深入讨论。我们的小组由 11 名参与者组成:来自六个不同国家的政策制定者、研究人员和资助机构代表。本练习的目的是通过探索变革性创新政策的具体工具来推进讨论并为 TIP 研究议程提供意见——这一主题似乎高度相关,因为所有参与者很快找到了共同点,认为这是最伟大的主题之一对他们的工作提出挑战。该活动的目的是就讨论期间出现的最紧迫的问题准备一个简短的演讲。

工具:定义

讨论的开始立即表明了当前主题的复杂性,因为提出了在这种情况下如何理解“工具”的问题。 “我们是在谈论分析工具、沟通和设计工具、评估、评估、参与工具吗?”一位参与者问道。在所有与变革性创新政策相关的命名示例上都达成了共识。最终,工具被更广泛地定义为“流程推动者”。

以下概述了辩论期间出现的主要挑战以及相应建议的工具和解决方案。

1 – 珍惜混乱:“我们必须知道我们不知道自己在做什么”

围绕小组主题,建议使用“PDCA”工具(计划、执行、检查和行动的框架)来指导讨论并定义使用 TIP 工具的阶段和领域。有趣的是,对 PDCA 框架的思考强调了变革创新哲学中的一个关键且经常具有挑战性的元素:框架和工具往往假定一个非常清晰和线性的过程,这通常并不适用。政策制定通常比同时发生的事情更混乱。事实上,在 TIP 中,这种以非线性方式同时做事的混乱应该被视为一种美德。该过程是参与性的,涉及高度不确定的情况。正如一位参与者所说,“我们必须知道我们不知道自己在做什么”,这意味着相应的流程要求灵活性和不断的重新评估和重新规划,一切都混为一谈。

  • 所谓的元规划工具被建议作为一种解决方案,因为它们专注于流程和产品开发的持续改进并且不那么连续。

Image may contain: 4 people, people sitting, table and indoor

2 – 选择和真正参与的工具

一位参与者分享了他在建议形成性评估和真正参与(TIPC 的两个核心概念)时通常会得到政策制定者的热烈反应的经验。然而,现任者的知识和权力不对称仍然是一个需要承认的挑战。相关问题包括:“如何选择参与系统的人员以及如何组织参与?”,强调所需的理念已经到位,但需要真正的参与工具。作为回应,建议使用以下工具:

  • 组织专家团队打破不同部委的隔阂,让决策者参与讨论。
  • 促进参与式讨论和混合组织形式的数字工具:Microsoft Teams、Solved、Miro、Slack 和 WhatsApp。
  • 此外,Solved 还被建议选择与手头挑战相匹配的合适人员,因为它是一种共同创造的工具,提供了可持续发展和清洁技术方面的专家库,但也可以用作协作白板空间。
  • 双钻石框架:这个框架源于设计思维方法,并被建议作为一种解决方案,以找出与谁互动以及如何处理混乱作为起点。这是一个尚未完全理解潜在挑战的问题。双钻框架由不同的阶段组成,包括:与来自不同世界的人合作、制定选择标准、定义流程以及在下一个混乱阶段开始之前澄清问题描述。一位参与者澄清说,“一旦人们完全迷失是可以的,就会促使他们敞开心扉并进行创新思考”。

3 – 数据安全和隐私

选择与 TIP 和政策制定相关的工具时的另一个挑战是信息是敏感的并且必须是安全的。因此,公有平台在这方面可能存在问题,政策制定者可能会质疑工具的法律方面。针对这一挑战的建议解决方案如下:

  • 实验室 2.0:可以创建一个物理空间,而不是使用虚拟工具,将来自不同部门的人们聚集在一起,亲自自由讨论事情,作为打破部门之间孤岛的解决方案。例子: OneTeamGov

4 – 利益相关者的参与和承诺

有时,让利益相关者参与并致力于继续实施变革性创新政策可能会很棘手。政策制定者几乎不可能进行实验,因为他们无法进行选择性资助计划或排除系统中的不同参与者来测试会发生什么。可能提供救赎的一件事是形式化互动的观点:

  • 模拟模型:将与来自不同执行级别的各种决策者一起开发模拟模型。它可以被视为一种定性方法,用于探索人们思维方式中的影响模型,连接影响途径和政策工具,以协作的方式应用于不同的场景。测试不同的选项并允许政策制定者探索意料之外的结果并着眼于同一个更大的图景,这将加强参与、对话和承诺。使用所有参与者都可以访问的相应界面提供了一个有形的变量,可以让人们保持联系。

5 – 知识管理和用自己的数据赋予人们权力

收集的数据和信息有时可能与政策制定过程本身一样混乱,因此输入的组织和结构成为一个真正的挑战。

  • 知识可视化:知识管理和可视化是关键,因为它可以帮助人们利用所提供的信息。有许多不同的方式来可视化知识,但有时它甚至足以帮助设置和可视化优先级或映射和排列利益相关者。这些简单的步骤可以帮助启动反思过程。

6 – 在国家背景下定义挑战并促进对话

机构对话的成熟度可能因国家而异。在许多国家,部际对话的做法远未到位,这意味着需要引入建立对话的要素。需要承认的是,促进对话在非洲或拉丁美洲和芬兰等地区的工作方式不同。因此,背景需要不同类型的工具来制定变革性创新政策。在国家范围内促进对话的潜在工具包括:

  • 以任务为导向的方法:通过设定每个人都同意的雄心勃勃和鼓舞人心的挑战,促进对话和承诺。然后需要将已定义挑战的元素整合到工具和对话中,以构建有意义的东西。
  • 框架:调整工具和使用特定概念可以提取信息,例如可持续性转型或系统创新叙述。框架可以导致可能成为共同优先事项的工作。

如何不重新发明轮子?

总之,与会者一致认为工具的可用性不是问题,因为那里有许多相关工具。然而,了解和选择正确的工具并将其插入政策制定过程仍然很困难。我们面临的挑战是紧迫的,需要及时的解决方案。那么,我们如何防止重新发明轮子并重复其他地方已经做过的事情呢?最终,很明显没有一站式解决方案。一些工具可能服务于特定的治理系统,但不是另一个。需要承认的是,工具的选择取决于治理环境。需要允许和接受错误和重新评估的实验。此外,人们需要参与进来,并尽可能多地打开筒仓。

第 10 组海报

变革性创新政策联盟活动

Blog

Reflections on Tools for Transformative Innovation Policy (Group 10)

During the main engagement activity on Day 2 of the TIPC Conference, groups of participants were tasked with entering an in-depth discussion on a specified topic. Our group consisted of 11 participants: policymakers, researchers and funding agency representatives from six different countries. The aim of this exercise was to advance the discussion and generate input towards the TIP research agenda by exploring concrete tools for Transformative Innovation Policy — a topic that appeared to be highly relevant, as all participants quickly found common ground  perceiving this as one of the greatest challenges to their work. The objective of the activity was to prepare a short pitch on the most pressing issues that emerged during the discussion.

Tools: A Definition

The start of the discussion instantly evinced the complexity of the topic at hand, as the question was raised how ‘tools’ was to be understood in this context. ‘Are we talking analytical tools, communication and design tools, evaluation, assessment, participation tools?’, one participant asked. Consensus was found on all named examples being relevant to Transformative Innovation Policy. Ultimately, tools were defined more broadly as “process enablers”.

The following provides an overview of the major challenges that arose during the debate and the tools and solutions suggested accordingly.

1 – Cherish messiness: ‘We have to know that we don’t know what we are doing’

Embracing the group theme, the “PDCA” tool ( a framework for planning, doing, checking and acting) was suggested for guiding the discussion and for defining the phases and areas in which TIP tools are used. Interestingly enough, contemplating the PDCA framework emphasised one of the crucial, and often challenging, elements in the philosophy of Transformative Innovation: Frameworks and tools tend to assume a very clear and linear process, which often doesn’t apply. Policy making is often messier than that with things happening simultaneously. In fact, within TIP, this messiness of doing things simultaneously in a non-linear manner should be seen as a virtue. The process is participative and involves situations of high uncertainty. ‘We have to know that we don’t know what we are doing’ as one participant put it, implying that according processes ask for flexibility and constant re-evaluation and re-planning where everything conflates.

  • So called meta-planning tools were suggested as a solution, since they focus on continuous improvement in the development of processes and products and are less sequential.

Image may contain: 4 people, people sitting, table and indoor

2 – Tools for selection and true participation

One participants shared his experience of usually receiving enthusiastic reactions from policymakers when suggesting formative evaluation and true participation – two core notions of TIPC. However, knowledge and power asymmetries of incumbents remain a challenge that needs to be acknowledged. Related questions included: ‘how to select those that participate in the participatory systems and how to organise participation?’, emphasising that the required philosophy is in place but truly participatory tools are needed. The following tools were suggested in response:

  • Organising expert teams to break the silos of different ministries and bring policymakers around the table.
  • Digital tools to facilitate participatory discussion and a hybrid form of organisation: Microsoft Teams, Solved, Miro, Slack and WhatsApp.
  • Solved was furthermore suggested for selecting the right people that match the challenge at hand, as it is a tool for co-creation that provides a pool of experts in Sustainability and Clean-Tech, but can also be used as a collaborative white board space.
  • Double-Diamond Framework: This framework stems from the Design Thinking approach, and was suggested as a solution for finding out who to engage and how to deal with messiness as the starting point. This a problem where the underlying challenge is not yet fully understood. The Double-Diamond framework consists of different phases, that includes: teaming up with people from very different worlds, the formulation of selection criteria, process definition and clarifying the problem description before the next messy phase starts. ‘Once it’s okay for people to be completely lost, it triggers them to open up and think innovatively’, one participant clarified.

3 – Data security and privacy

Another challenge when selecting tools related to TIP and policy making is that information is sensitive and must be secure. Therefore, publicly owned platforms might be problematic in this regard and policymakers may question the legal side of tools. A suggested solution for this challenge reads as follows:

  • Lab 2.0: Instead of using virtual tools, a physical space could be created where people from different ministries are brought together to freely discuss things in person as a solution for breaking silos between ministries. Example: OneTeamGov

4 – Stakeholder engagement and commitment

Sometimes it can be tricky to keep stakeholders engaged and committed to continuing the process towards Transformative Innovation Policy. It is hardly possible for policymakers to run experiments, as they cannot run selective funding schemes or exclude different actors in the system to test what will happen. One thing potentially offering redemption is the perspective of formalising interaction:

  • Simulation Model: A simulation model is to be developed together with various policymakers from various levels of execution. It can be seen as a qualitative method for exploring impact models within people’s mindsets, connecting pathways of impact as well as policy instruments, applied to different scenarios in a collaborative way. Testing different options and allowing policymakers to explore unanticipated outcomes and look at the same bigger picture shall enhance engagement, dialogue and commitment. Using an according interface to which all actors have access offers a tangible variable that keeps people connected.

5 – Knowledge Management and empowering people with their own data

The data and information gathered can sometimes be just as messy as the policy making process itself, so the organisation and structuring of input becomes a real challenge.

  • Knowledge visualisation: Knowledge management and visualisation is key as it helps people utilise the information provided. There are many different way to visualise knowledge, but sometimes it is even enough to assist in setting and visualising priorities or mapping and ranking stakeholders. These simple steps can help in initiating a reflection process.

6 – Defining the challenge and facilitating dialogue in a country context

The maturity of institutional dialogue might vary greatly per country. In many countries the practise of having inter-ministerial dialogue is far from being in place, meaning that elements to set up dialogue need to be introduced. It needs to be acknowledged that facilitating dialogue works differently in areas such as Africa or Latin America and Finland. Hence, context requires different types of tools to set up Transformative Innovation Policy. Potential tools for facilitating dialogue in a country context include the following:

  • Mission oriented approach: By setting ambitious and inspirational challenges that everyone can agree on facilitates dialogue and commitment. Elements of the defined challenges then need to be integrated into tools and dialogue to construct something meaningful.
  • Framing: Adapting tools and using specific concepts allows for extracting information e.g. of the sustainability transition or system innovation narrative. Framing can lead to what could be a shared priority to work on.

How not to reinvent the wheel?

In conclusion, participants agreed that the availability of tools is not the issue as there are many relevant tools out there. However, being aware of and selecting the right tools as well as inserting them into the process of policy making remains difficult. The challenges we are facing are urgent and ask for timely solutions. So how do we prevent reinventing the wheel and repeating something that has been done elsewhere already? Ultimately, it became apparent that there is no one-stop solution; some tools might serve a specific governance system, yet not another. It needs to be acknowledged that the selection of tools is contingent on the governance landscape. There is a need for experimentation which calls for an allowance and acceptance of errors and re-evaluation. Furthermore, people need to be engaged and silos opened up as much as possible.

Group 10 Posters

Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium Events

For Global Transformative Change, Sign-Up Now.

Your role

* indicates required
feedback_mix.png