TIPC

2019 年 TIP 会议报告:迈向变革性创新政策 (TIP) 的全球研究议程

2019年11月4日至5日

西班牙巴伦西亚

欢迎阅读 2019 年 TIP 会议报告——该活动和计划活动的数字演练。

反射 TIPC 创始人 Johan Schot 教授致辞

“试点阶段结束后,TIPC 已经启动并运行了 2 年。这些年来,我们致力于阐明变革性创新政策框架,并通过与全球南方和全球北方成员的互动,以对称的方式将其融入背景。这种情况发生在培训、双边安排、接触周和会议中。它引发了一种新的叙事,开始影响各成员(创始成员、新成员和准成员)和其他参与者(其中包括贸发会议、欧盟和欧洲环境署)的政策制定。

我们一直在建立一个有能力实施和具体化 TIP 的选区网络,并在必要时重新审视和调整它。为此,我们正在创建一个网络,将来自 Eu-SPRI、STRN、Globelics 等的学者联系起来。

最后,我们一直在为 TIPC 为实施做出贡献提供空间——这就是我们所说的使用变革性成果的形成性评估。我们已经定义了形成性评估方法以及变革性成果,如我们的 TIPC 政策简介。我很高兴明年我们将开始与我们的成员以及 EIT-Climate-KIC 合作,在实时项目中实施这一方法。这触及 TIPC 的核心:共同创建学术基础研究,询问变革如何发生和治理,以及政策制定试验新型形成性评估干预措施,以产生更具变革性的成果。

TIPC 是一个临时的认知和社交空间,旨在为来自世界各地不同背景和地区的学者之间的二阶或深度学习提供环境,并将他们与来自这些地区的政策制定者融合在一起。这本身就是一个实验!在巴伦西亚会议期间,我看到了实验正在进行的明确信号——学者和政策制定者正在质疑他们的假设,探索新的思维方式以及研究和政策制定的可能行动。

我们需要继续走出我们的孤岛。学者和政策制定者需要制定更广泛的议程,然后开始实施。我们的研究人员需要更加积极主动,在我们的项目之间建立联系,成为一股力量。

TIPC 已经达到了我们想要达到的目标,我们正处于在各种组织和环境中实施我们的想法的边缘。我们还在扩大并吸纳新成员。我对 TIPC 试点国家所做的所有工作感到高兴,并欢迎与塞内加尔、加纳、肯尼亚和中国进一步互动。

我期待着继续开展迄今为止令人兴奋且出色的工作。”

约翰·肖特教授

2019 年 11 月 4 日 星期一
此次活动的欢迎招待会在壮观的 Mirador de Comedias, Carrer de les Comèdies, 7, 46003 València 举行

约翰·肖特 代表 TIPC 会员欢迎所有参与者参加此次活动。

会议以半结构化的快速网络游戏开始,旨在介绍小组成员,探讨对合作的期望并签到会议 - 留下其他职责和关注点。每个小组都获得了一套卡片,上面回答了一系列问题,例如参加活动的动机、工作职责、协作风格、好恶以及在团队中扮演的角色。玩家有几分钟的时间拿一张卡片并与其他小组成员讨论问题,然后在铃声响起时转向另一位小组成员并提出问题。  

我们观察了不同群体如何解读这个游戏以及所展示的社会和文化动态——一些群体采取了非正式的方式,独立流通并与成员随机混合;其他的则更为正式,参与者在协调员的指导下轮流循环,或者与整个小组一一分享答案。参与者通过匿名记下他们对这次活动的最初想法、反思、希望和恐惧来完成练习。这些笔记强调的主题包括希望“更多地了解最先进的创新研究”,“进行具有挑战性的讨论,提供新想法”,以及对“陷入理论困境”和“与新人建立联系”的担忧。以及“如何将理论转化为实践”。 

总体而言,会后调查表明,73% 的受访者认为本次开幕会议是一次“非常积极”的体验,18%“有些积极”,9% 既不积极也不消极。

一场鼓舞人心的演讲,重点关注 EIT Climate KIC 的使命:通过创新促进系统性变革;该研究着眼于他们的战略“及时转型”的驱动因素,以及如何通过实验和协作来实现这一目标。 请阅读 Dunlop 博士在 TIP 会议上的采访。 

Kirsten Dunlop 博士 – EIT Climate-KIC 首席执行官

Johan Schot 教授 – TIPC 学术主任,乌得勒支大学 UGlobe; Kirsten Dunlop 博士 – EIT Climate-KIC 首席执行官

欢迎招待会继续提供小吃和饮料,并有机会进行更多非正式的交流。

2019 年 11 月 5 日 星期二
会议的主要部分在 Ingenio, Universitat Politècnica de València, Ciudad Politécnica de la Innovación, Building 8E [Red Cube Hall], Camino de Vera, s/n, 46022 VALENCIA 举行

CSIC-UPV Ingenio 主任 Jordi Molas Gallart 教授和 Bipashyee Ghosh 博士与网络间对话参与者(Eu-Spri、Globelics、STRN 和 TIPC)分享了迄今为止 TIP 全球研究议程工作进展情况的最新情况。每个人都从他们的网络角度分享了他们对变革的愿景,以及这如何与新兴研究议程的各个方面联系起来。

不同的科技创新社区正在动员创新政策来应对持续存在的社会经济环境挑战。会议的主要目的是提供一个平台,推动 Eu-SPRI、STRN、TIPC 和 Globelics/AfricaLics 等不同学术网络正在进行的关于变革性创新的辩论。这次会议汇集了来自全球南方和北方不同背景的人员和跨学科研究项目。会议的各个会议旨在促进参与者之间最大限度的互动、辩论和相互学习,共同创造围绕 TIP 的新叙述。

在本次会议中,以及 Molas Gallart 教授和 Ghosh 博士的概述,这四个关键网络的参与者简要介绍了他们对 TIP 的看法 – 他们如何处理这个概念,以及在他们自己的国家中理解和制定 TIP 的相关性如何上下文。 

 

Jordi Molas Gallart 教授、INGENIO (CSIC-UPV) 和 Bipashyee Ghosh 博士。斯普鲁 

这是一次正式会议,旨在促进参与者之间的非正式互动。每个参与者都被要求携带一张海报来描述他们的项目和结果。走廊里展示了60多张项目海报,引发了海报“主人”和“参观者”之间的丰富讨论和互动。这些项目包括从生物多样性到发展的方法、利用人工智能了解研发的影响、针对政府惰性的开放数据到绿色增长的新叙述、墨西哥实现可持续发展目标的转型、流动服务政策实验室等等。在一个小时的时间限制下,会议的结果要么是一些参与者对一些项目进行了深入的深入理解,要么是其他参与者对许多项目的快速概述。由于TIPC网站上海报的虚拟展示,参与者可以以“哦,我在网上看这张海报,我有一个问题......”来开始对话,而不是在本次会议中第一次看到海报。

查看与 TIP 相关的在线展览和主题。 

会议的一个关键会议是就提交会议的项目提案中出现的具体主题进行小组讨论。每个小组的参与者都从他们的项目或政策工作中提出了见解,为小组的主题做出贡献。根据这些意见,各小组选择一个主题或一系列问题,在主持人的带领下进行深入讨论。每个小组的动态和由此产生的讨论都是不同的。记录员将这些讨论记录在一个名为 Padlet 的在线平台上。该平台开放供所有群体共享知识。这项活动的主要目的是从不同个人以及科技创新社区的角度获取关于变革性创新政策多个方面的知识。这些见解将有助于通过寻找与 TIP 相关的每个主题的不同观点之间的协同作用和对比来创建 TIP 共享研究议程。这项活动的一个关键成果是形成了一个充满活力的学习和实践社区,由热衷于推进讨论并为变革性变革的研究和行动做出贡献的成员组成。

会议参与者发表了自己的看法。其中的一些选择包括:

全体会议由欧洲环境署 (EEA) 的迈克·阿斯奎斯 (Mike Asquith) 主持。会议的核心是来自欧洲各机构的代表小组的发言,阐述了他们如何实施转型思维以及这为评估各种举措带来的挑战。

本次会议有一个 背景纸制作完成。 

查看 Twitter 评论和辩论。

Policy for Global Transformation Panel 

Matthias Koller – 联邦环境局、Anastasios Kentarchos – 欧盟委员会、Sander Happaerts – 欧盟委员会、Mike Asquith – 欧洲环境局、Fred Stewart – 政策研究所
 
Policy for Global Transformation Panel 
迈克·阿斯奎斯 – 欧洲环境署

该小组重点讨论了从资助者的角度来看什么可以被视为变革性变革的“前沿研究”。在本次会议上,资助者小组分享了他们为变革性创新做出贡献的资助提案的经验。他们分享了他们预计在科学、技术和创新领域出现的具有变革性的项目。本次会议的小组成员在资助项目方面拥有丰富的经验,特别是在南半球国家,因此对特定背景下的研究支持有了更深入的了解。

Diana Velasco – 哥伦比亚伊巴格大学; Ellie Gilvin – 工程与物理科学研究委员会、Imran Patel – 南非国家研究基金会、Matthew Wallace – 国际发展研究中心
 

马修华莱士 – 国际发展研究中心

查看 Twitter 评论和辩论。

经过两次背靠背的全体会议后,与会者有机会在这半小时内与特定感兴趣的资助者进行更多互动。这也是在闭幕会议上分享之前确定参与活动上午会议成果的另一个机会。 

本次会议汇集了供给(研究界)和需求(资助者),尽管供给和需求也是交叉的,因为研究人员正在寻求资金,而资助者则要求符合战略重点,与实现可持续发展目标的雄心相一致。本次会议的上半场将所有内容集中在一起,并确定了研究议程工作和相关研究网络的后续步骤。

在本次会议开始时,每个小组的主持人都进行了简短的反思,并在各自的表格中提出了关键论点。然后,在公开讨论中将这些意见与资助者的经验和预期进行匹配。目标是寻找对连接供需的变革性创新全球研究议程的影响。

会议的最后一部分启动了一个围绕变革性创新研究和资助的网络,通过设计 TIP 全球研究计划来继续合作和实验。

TIP Conference Report 2019

4-5th November 2019

Valencia, Spain

Welcome to the TIP Conference 2019 Report – a digital walk-through of the event and programme activities.

Reflection from TIPC Founder, Professor Johan Schot

“After its pilot phase, TIPC has been up and running for 2 years. During these years we have focused on articulating the Transformative Innovation Policy frame, and contextualizing it through interactions with the members of the Global South and the Global North in a symmetrical way. This happened in trainings, in bilateral arrangements, during the engagement week and at the conferences. It has led to a new narrative that has begun to shape policy formulation of various members (founding members as well as new ones, and associates) and other actors, among which the UNCTAD, the EU and the European Environmental Agency.

We have been building a network of constituencies with capabilities to implement and contextualize TIP, and also revisiting and adjusting it whenever necessary. Towards that end, we are creating a network that will link scholars from Eu-SPRI, STRN, Globelics and beyond.

Finally, we have been carving out a space for TIPC to contribute to implementation – this is what we call formative evaluation using transformative outcomes. We have defined the formative evaluation methodology as well as the transformative outcomes as summarized in our TIPC Policy Brief. I am very happy that next year we will begin to implement this methodology in real-time projects, working with our members and with EIT-Climate-KIC. This goes to the heart of TIPC: Co-creating academic basic research asking questions about how transformative change is happening and can be governed, and policy-making experimenting with new types of formative evaluation interventions to generate more transformative outcomes.

TIPC is a temporary cognitive and social space, that aims to provide a context for second order or deep learning between academics from many backgrounds and regions of the world as well as mixing them up with policy-makers from these regions. It is an experiment itself! During the Valencia conference, I saw clear signals that the experiment is happening – academics and policy makers are questioning their assumptions, exploring new ways of thinking and possible actions for research and policy-making.

We need to continue to get out of our silos. Academics and policymakers need to develop a broader agenda, and then start implementing it. Us researchers need to be more proactive and build connections between our projects and become a force.

We are where we want to be with TIPC, we are at the brink of implementing our thinking inside various organizations and contexts. We are also expanding and gaining new members. I am pleased with all the work done in various countries piloting TIPC and would welcome further interactions with Senegal, Ghana, Kenya and China.

I’m looking forward to continuing the exciting and excellent work that has been happening so far.”

Professor Johan Schot

Monday 4th November 2019
The welcome reception for the event was at the spectacular Mirador de Comedias, Carrer de les Comèdies, 7, 46003 València

The sessions opened with a semi-structured speed networking game, intended to introduce group members, explore expectations for working together and check in to the conference – leaving behind other duties and concerns. Each group was provided with a pack of cards, addressing a series of questions, such as motivations for attending the event, work responsibilities, collaborative styles, likes and dislikes and roles played within a team. Players were given a few minutes to take a card and discuss the question with other group members, before moving on to another group member – and question – when the bell rang.  

We observed how different groups interpreted this game and the social and cultural dynamics on display – some groups adopted an informal approach, circulating independently and mixing randomly with members; others were more formally facilitated, with players taking turns to circulate under the direction of the facilitator, or sharing responses one by one with the whole group. Participants finished the exercise by scribbling down anonymously their initial thoughts, reflections, hopes and fears for the event. These notes highlighted themes that ranged across hopes ‘to learn more about state-of-the-art innovation studies’  to have ‘challenging discussions that give new ideas’ to fears around ‘getting bogged down in theory’ and ‘networking with new people’ and ‘how to translate theory to practice’. 

Overall, the post conference survey indicated that 73% of respondents found this opening session a ‘very positive’ experience, 18% ‘somewhat positive’ and 9% neither positive or negative.

An inspiring talk focused on the EIT Climate KIC mission to catalyse systemic change through innovation; which looked at the drivers of their strategy, ‘Transformation, In Time’ and how this is being achieved through experimentation and collaboration. Read the interview conducted with Dr Dunlop for the TIP Conference. 

Dr Kirsten Dunlop – CEO, EIT Climate-KIC

Professor Johan Schot – TIPC Academic Director, UGlobe, University of Utrecht; Dr Kirsten Dunlop – CEO, EIT Climate-KIC

The welcome reception continued with canapés and drinks and there was the opportunity for more informal networking.

Tuesday 5th November 2019
The main part of the conference took place at Ingenio, Universitat Politècnica de València, Ciudad Politécnica de la Innovación, Building 8E [Red Cube Hall], Camino de Vera, s/n, 46022 VALENCIA

Professor Jordi Molas Gallart, Director of CSIC- UPV Ingenio and Dr Bipashyee Ghosh shared an update on how the TIP global research agenda work is shaping up thus far with the inter-network dialogue participants – Eu-Spri, Globelics, STRN and TIPC. Each shared their vision for transformative change from their network’s perspectives and how this links to aspects of the emerging research agenda.

Different STI communities are mobilising innovation policy for addressing persistent socio-economic-environmental challenges. The main aim of the conference was to provide a platform for advancing the ongoing debates of different scholarly networks like Eu-SPRI, STRN, TIPC and Globelics/AfricaLics on transformative innovation. The conference brought together people and transdisciplinary research projects from different Global South and Global North contexts. The sessions in the conference were designed to facilitate maximum interaction, debate and mutual learning among participants towards co-creating new narratives around TIP.

In this session, as well as the overview given from Professor Molas Gallart and Dr Ghosh, participants affiliated to each of these four key networks briefly introduced their perspective on TIP – how they approach this concept and how relevant is understanding and enacting TIP in their own contexts. 

 

Prof. Jordi Molas Gallart, INGENIO (CSIC-UPV) and Dr. Bipashyee Ghosh. SPRU 

This was a formal session, designed to facilitate informal interactions between participants. Each participant was requested to bring a poster describing their projects and results. More than 60 project posters were displayed in the hallways – which triggered rich discussions and engagement between the poster ‘host’ and ‘visitors’. The projects ranged from biodiversity approaches to development, using AI to understand the impact of R&D, open data against government inertia to new narratives of green growth, Transformation for achieving SDGs in Mexico, Policy Labs for mobility services – to name a few. The session resulted in either deep understanding of a few projects in depth by some participants or a quick overview of many projects by others, given an hour time limit. Owing to the virtual exhibition of the posters on the TIPC website, participants could start the conversation with “Oh, I was looking at this poster online, and I have a question…”, instead of seeing the poster for the first time in this session.

View the online exhibition and themes associated with TIP. 

A key session of the conference were these facilitated group discussions on specific themes that emerged out of the project proposals submitted for the conference. Participants in each group brought forward insights from their projects or policy work to contribute to the theme of the group. Following these inputs, the groups chose a topic or a range of issues to discuss in-depth following the lead of the facilitator. The dynamics in each group and the resulting discussions were different. The note-taker recorded these discussions in an online platform called Padlet. This platform is open for knowledge sharing across all groups. The key aim of this activity was to generate knowledge from different individual as well as STI community perspectives on multiple facets of transformative innovation policy. These insights will feed into the effort of creating a shared research agenda on TIP through finding synergies and contrasts between different perspectives on each theme related to TIP. A key outcome of this activity was that a vibrant community of learning and practice emerged, made up of members who are enthusiastic about carrying forward the discussion and contribute to the research and action for transformative change.

Participants from the sessions gave their reflections. A selection of these include:

The plenary was led by Mike Asquith from the European Environmental Agency (EEA). The core of the session was statements from the panel of representatives from various European agencies setting out how they are operationalizing transitions thinking and the challenges that this creates for assessing various initiatives.

For this session, there was a background paper produced. 

View the Twitter commentary and debate.

Policy for Global Transformation Panel 

Matthias Koller – Federal Environment Agency, Anastasios Kentarchos – European Commission, Sander Happaerts – European Commission, Mike Asquith – European Environmental Agency, Fred Stewart – Policy Studies Institute
 
Policy for Global Transformation Panel 
Mike Asquith – European Environmental Agency

This panel focused on a discussion around what can be considered as ‘cutting-edge research’ for transformative change from funders’ perspective. In this session, a panel of funders shared their experiences of funding proposals that offered to contribute to transformative innovation. They shared the kind of projects they anticipate to be emerging in the field of science, technology and innovation that can be considered transformative. The panelists in this session had extensive experience in funding projects, particularly in the Global South, therefore a greater insight into research support in specific contexts became clear.

Diana Velasco – Universidad de Ibagué, Colombia; Ellie Gilvin – Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, Imran Patel – South African National Research Foundation, Matthew Wallace – International Development Research Centre
 

Matthew Wallace – International Development Research Centre

View the Twitter commentary and debate.

After two back to back plenaries, participants had the opportunity for more interaction during this half an hour to speak to particular funders of  interest. This was also another opportunity to finalise on the outputs from the engagement activity morning session prior to sharing it in the closing session. 

This session brought together the supply (the research community) and demand (the funders), although supply and demand is also cross cutting since researchers are looking for funding and funders are demanding fit with strategic priorities, aligned with ambitions to address the Sustainable Development Goals. The first half of this session brought it all together and defined next steps for the research agenda work and the related research network.

In the beginning of this session, facilitators of each group presented short reflections and the key arguments put forward in their respective tables. These inputs were then matched with the funders’ experiences and anticipations in an open floor discussion. The goal was to find implications for a global research agenda on Transformative Innovation that bridges the supply and demand.

The last part of the session launched a network around transformative innovation research and funding to continue collaboration and experimentation by designing a global programme of research on TIP. 

For Global Transformative Change, Sign-Up Now.

Your role

* indicates required
feedback_mix.png