转型创新政策联盟 (TIPC) 简介

变革性创新政策联盟 (TIPC) 是一群科学、技术和创新研究人员、决策者和资助机构,共同努力为科学、技术和创新 (STI) 政策的新框架——变革性创新政策 (TIP) 提供实质内容。 TIP 旨在应对联合国可持续发展目标中所概括的全球社会挑战。

由英国苏塞克斯大学科学政策研究组 (SPRU) 协调,目前成员是来自哥伦比亚、芬兰、挪威、南非和瑞典的创新部委和资助机构。在中国、巴西、塞内加尔、加纳和肯尼亚还有额外的助理项目。 

TIP 以 TIPC 创始人 Johan Schot 教授和 Ed Steinmueller 教授关于创新三框架(2018)的论文为基础。 

TIPC 是一个为期五年的计划,专注于政策试验、评估、能力建设和研究议程的制定。一个总体目标是看到全球范围内广泛采用新的变革性创新政策和实践。这种跨学科的方法已经产生了新的框架、标准和叙述,并探索了利用全球南北国家之间相互政策学习的新方法。

创新政策的三个框架

 

在过去的几十年中,两个概念框架主导了创新政策制定的发展,该模式基于 20 世纪的供应驱动创新模式,该模式以国家之间的竞争和对研发的支持作为政策制定的主要切入点。这两个框架都假设经济增长总是积极的,忽略了对社会和环境产生不利影响的科学技术发展的许多意想不到的后果。第三个框架,变革性创新政策 (TIP) 正在出现——一个将社会和环境问题置于核心位置的框架。

  • 1. R&D and Regulation
  • 2. 国家创新创业体系
  • 3. 转型创新政策
第一个框架将创新政策描述为激励市场生产符合社会和经济要求的科学知识 (R&D) 水平。这主要通过补贴和措施来实现,以提高创新(IPR)的“专有性”。为了确定哪些领域需要支持,已经开发了远见。关于负面外部性,已经建立了各种形式的技术评估,并且为了在影响成为问题时保护社会,制定了法规。这种框架将创新的最重要元素识别为发现过程(发明),并产生了线性模型,其中技术是科学知识的应用。线性模型优先于应用程序的发现。部分原因是假设应用的回报是通过市场系统的充分运作来实现的。只有在市场失灵的情况下,才需要政府采取行动。

第二个框架旨在更好地利用知识生产,支持商业化并弥合发现和应用之间的差距。这种框架以各种形式的学习为中心,包括:通过使用、生产和互动获得的;不同行为者之间的联系;企业的吸收能力和能力形成;最后,创业。政策干预的基本原理是系统故障——由于创新系统中的环节缺失或故障而无法充分利用现有资源。例如,创新政策侧重于技术转让、建立技术平台和技术集群以促进互动和人力资本形成。此外,在该模型中,远见、技术评估和监管是促进创新核心活动的附加内容(假设任何创新都是可取的和有益的,因为创新是产生经济增长和竞争力的动力)。

创新政策的第三个框架是变革性创新政策 (TIP),它以创新的负面影响或外部性可以取代积极贡献为起点。 TIP 专注于调动创新的力量来应对广泛的社会挑战,包括不平等、失业和气候变化。它强调将社会技术系统引导到社会期望的方向并将变革过程嵌入社会的政策。 TIP 探索围绕社会技术系统变革的问题,以实现以下方面的结构转型:国家、市场、公民社会和科学之间的治理安排;实验和社会学习;负责任的研究和创新;最后,远见更有建设性的作用,从一开始并持续地塑造创新过程。

第三帧有何不同?

下面的流程图展示了框架 1 和框架 2 之间的主要区别,然后是框架 3 的主要区别。框架 1 和 2 假设将通过刺激新知识和创新来解决公共福利问题,工业将利用这些新知识和创新来实现经济增长。框架 3 明确并从根本上将社会目标作为主要关注点。通过首先应对社会挑战,框架 3 思维假设,通过关注社会和环境福利,将有更高的生产力和更少的不平等,从而促进经济增长。它与第 1 帧和第 2 帧的假设相反。

创新的三个框架

Introduction to Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC)

The Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC) is a group of science, technology and innovation researchers, policymakers and funding agencies working together to give substance to a new framing for Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) policy – Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP).  TIP aims to address global societal challenges, as encapsulated in the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals.

Co-ordinated by the Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU) at the University of Sussex in the UK, the current members are innovation ministries and funding agencies from Colombia, Finland, Norway, South Africa and Sweden. There are additional associate programmes in China, Brazil, Senegal, Ghana, and Kenya. 

TIP is underpinned by a paper on the Three Frames of Innovation (2018) by TIPC founders Professor Johan Schot and Professor Ed Steinmueller. 

TIPC is a five-year programme focused on policy experimentation, evaluation, capacity building and research agenda development. An overarching ambition is to see the widespread adoption of new transformative innovation policies and practices across the globe. This transdisciplinary approach is already generating new frameworks, standards and narratives, and exploring novel ways to harness mutual policy learning between countries in the Global North and South.

Three Framings of Innovation Policy

 

Over the last decades two conceptual frameworks have dominated the development of innovation policy-making which has been based on the 20th century supply-driven innovation model, which takes competition between nations and support for R&D as the main entry point for policy making. Both frames assume economic growth is always positive, ignoring many of the unintended consequences of science & technology development that have adversely impacted society and the environment. A third frame, Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP) is emerging – one that places social and environmental problems at the core.

  • 1. R&D and Regulation
  • 2. National Systems of Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • 3. Transformative Innovation Policy
The first framing portrays innovation policy as providing incentives for the market to produce socially and economically desired levels of science knowledge (R&D). This is mainly implemented by subsidies and measures to enhance the ‘appropriability’ of innovation (IPR). To identify which areas need support, foresight has been developed. With respect to negative externalities, various forms of technology assessment have been established and, to protect society if the impacts are becoming a problem, regulation is put in place. This framing identities the most important element of innovation as the discovery process (invention) and gives rise to the linear model in which technology is the application of scientific knowledge. The linear model privileges discovery over application. In part because the rewards of application are assumed to be carried out through an adequate functioning of the market system. Only in the case of market failure, is government action required.

The second framing aims to make better use of knowledge production, supports commercialisation and bridges the gap between discovery and application. This framing takes as central various forms of learning including: those acquired by using, producing and interacting; linkages between various actors; absorptive capacity and capability formation of firms; and finally, entrepreneurship. The rationale for policy intervention is system failure – the inability to make the most out of what is available due to missing or malfunctioning links in the innovation system. Innovation policy focuses, for example, on technology transfer, building technology platforms and technology clusters to stimulate interaction and human capital formation. Further, in this model, foresight, technology assessment and regulation are add-ons to the core activity of promoting innovation (on the assumption that any innovation is desirable and good since innovation is the motor for producing economic growth and competiveness).

A third frame for innovation policy is that of Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP) which takes as a starting point that negative impacts or externalities of innovation can overtake positive contributions. TIP focuses on mobilising the power of innovation to address a wide range of societal challenges including inequality, unemployment and climate change. It emphasises policies for directing socio-technical systems into socially desirable directions and embeds processes of change in society. TIP explores issues around socio-technical system change to give a structural transformation in: governance arrangements between the state, the market, civil society and science; experimentation and societal learning; responsible research and innovation; and, finally, a more constructive role for foresight to shape innovation processes from the outset and on a continuing basis.

How does Frame Three differ?

This flowchart below demonstrates the principal difference between Frames 1 and 2, and then that of Frame 3. Frames 1 and 2 assume public welfare will be addressed through the stimulus of new knowledge and innovation which will be utilised by industry to achieve economic growth. Frame 3 explicitly and fundamentally addresses societal goals as a primary focus. By tackling societal challenges first and foremost, Frame 3 thinking supposes that, with attention on social and environmental welfare, there will be greater productivity and less inequality, therefore then, increased economic growth. It flows counter to that of Frame 1 and 2 assumptions.

The Three Frames of Innovation

For Global Transformative Change, Sign-Up Now.

Your role

* indicates required
feedback_mix.png