TIPC

对 Vinnova 改造瑞典食品系统的使命的分析

Thinking & Analysis

经过两年的合作,TIPC Vinnova 实验接近尾声,TIPC 团队进行了总结性分析,以揭示该项目的目标和预期成果已达到何种程度,仍存在哪些挑战以及如何前进。分析表明,人们越来越认同需要改变瑞典的食品系统。它表明粮食系统中的一些关键参与者已经开始更密切地合作,并提出了进一步利用这一潜力以及最大化和评估所产生影响的具体途径。

Vinnova 是瑞典的创新机构,帮助建立瑞典的创新能力并为可持续增长做出贡献。在过去的一年里,Vinnova 进行了试验并深入开展任务,在这些任务中,不同的参与者朝着一个共同的目标朝着同一个方向努力。通过这种方法,Vinnova 旨在通过汇集来自不同部门、行业和学科的参与者来实现系统变革,以实现必须在一定时间内实现的大胆鼓舞人心和可衡量的目标。确定的目标必须对社会和政治产生影响,并与大部分人口相关。 

通过应用 TIPC 方法,包括开发具有变革性结果的变革性变革理论并在政策周期中应用形成性评估,TIPC/Vinnova 团队开始了旨在支持 Vinnova 食品领域使命的学习之旅,即“瑞典的每个孩子都应该吃可持续和优质的学校食品”,并最终改变瑞典的整个食品系统。 

变革的变革理论

为了更好地了解影响、参与者、依赖关系、机遇和挑战,并为发展变革理论奠定基础,TIPC/Vinnova 团队开发了各种改变瑞典粮食系统的途径。变革理论建立了因果链,以实现干预措施的预期变化,将投入、活动和(短期)产出联系起来,从而促成(中期)结果和(长期)影响。它有助于参与者反映和了解整个变化过程。 

TIPC 方法将变革理论更进一步,并将其与所谓的变革成果相结合,变革成果是一个概念框架,它确定了可持续性转型中的三个大规模变革过程和 12 个设定变革路径的等效成果。三个变化过程是: 

  1. 建立和培育利基市场,这是创新发生的受保护空间;
  2. 扩大和主流化利基市场;
  3. 开放和解锁制度,这是提供社会技术需求(例如提供能源、食品或运输服务)的主要且往往不可持续的方式。 

TIPC/Vinnova 团队反映了食品领域的使命并基于转型路径,制定了具有转型成果的变革理论,以制定转型路线图并实现最大可能的影响。与开放和解锁制度相关的三项(变革性)成果被优先考虑,以推动瑞典食品系统的预期变革。它们列在下表中:

结果 假设 变革性成果
在代理和配置方面对食物系统的新认识
粮食系统在某些领域表现出僵化保守的工作方式,影响了其变革性创新能力。对挑战的系统理解可以导致不同价值链朝着可持续发展的方向发生变化。
制度中的去学习和深度学习;加强制度-利基互动。
食品系统内的政策和商业行为者改变了他们对可持续性三个维度之间关系的看法和行为
只要经济增长和生产力被该部门的主要政策和行业参与者视为总体目标,实现快速转型变革以实现完全可持续的粮食系统将是一项挑战。
改变对景观压力的看法;制度中的去学习和深度学习
政府机构正在共同努力为新的可持续粮食系统生产替代品
为了提高改变粮食系统的可能性,不同的政府机构必须共同努力,共同制定出路。
扭曲和破坏稳定的制度

表:Vinnova 食品使命的变革理论定义的变革性成果

通过分析项目和研讨会报告、内部工作文件、学习历史以及对在 Vinnova 食品领域工作的主要参与者进行多次采访,结论分析旨在反映 Vinnova 从 2019 年到今天,并指导粮食领域使命工作未来阶段的进一步活动。

在代理和配置方面对食物系统的新认识

对于以任务为导向的方法,成功的一个关键因素是建立对复杂挑战的系统理解,这需要包括在要转型的系统中运作的关键参与者、机构和当局的不同星座。挑战是由参与者的多重愿景定义的,而不是作为起点。

对于 Vinnova 食品区的使命,这意味着要传达对学校食品在改变整个瑞典食品系统中所起的关键作用的新认识,并认识到创新、更新和挑战在瑞典盛行的僵化和保守的工作方式的必要性。部门,以及这可能产生的影响。通过与各种食品系统参与者(包括企业家、食品生产商、厨师、教师、学生、家庭、学校行政人员和市政代表)组织共同创造研讨会和原型替代实践,并允许他们互动和反思,共同理解促进了系统性挑战和机遇。  

将如此广泛的利基和政权行为者聚集在一起,加强了对学校食品的系统视角,这意味着对利益相关者的相互依赖和相互关系以及杠杆点和加速变革的潜力有了更大的认识。参与研讨会的人员从不同的角色和观点出发,定义了他们在食品系统中遇到的主要挑战。例如,政策的观点,食品生产者的观点,管理物流,同时是积极的消费者。该方法旨在使参与者从一开始就成为转型过程的一部分,而不是被动地观察给定问题的一组提议的解决方案。这为确定共同使命和途径以及组建新联盟提供了机会。参与者被发现拓宽了他们对粮食系统的理解(例如与参与者的多样性相关),通过努力采取行动丰富了他们的日常经验,并认识到他们作为变革推动者的作用。参与者的心态普遍发生了变化,他们对食品系统的复杂性有了更好的认识,并看到了与之相关的影响。

提高对可持续性三个维度的认识

资料来源:UNSSC 可持续发展知识中心

2030 年议程承诺国际社会“以平衡和综合的方式实现经济、社会和环境三个维度的可持续发展”。

因此,Vinnova 食品领域的第二个成果旨在改变食品系统内政策和商业行为者对三个维度之间关系的看法和行为。这是基于这样一种假设,即只要经济增长和生产力被该部门的主要政策和行业参与者视为总体目标,那么实现快速转型变革以实现完全可持续的粮食系统将具有挑战性。

迄今为止,数据来源并未显示政策和企业代表增强他们对可持续性的看法的直接证据。然而,这项任务还处于早期阶段,随着事情的发展,应该持续监测观念的变化。

政府机构正在合作建立新的可持续粮食系统

Vinnova 的食品领域认为,为了提高改变食品系统的可能性,不同的政府机构必须共同努力,共同制定出路。最终,这样的合作将导致“制度脱节和不稳定”,这意味着主要的不可持续做法和政策受到挑战并最终被替代品所取代,从而有助于再生的可持续粮食系统。

所进行的研究表明,强有力的证据表明,Vinnova 以使命为导向的食品方法已成功地将不同的政府机构联系起来,在瑞典建立了一种共同的食品可持续性方法。这种方法体现了以参与式、非反应性的方式解决复杂问题的系统性观点,并促进深度学习朝着超越“划分任务”思维方式的更全面的视角. 到目前为止,已经有多家食品和采购机构以及地方政府的各个直辖市参与进来。因此,尽管在说服其他机构和中央政府方面仍有许多工作要做,但已经为开展协作工作播下了种子。 

一般来说,利用这一点是一个很高的风险,因为该方法也是 Vinnova 的一项实验,并且该过程正在扩展政策设计和实施的主要方式。 Vinnova 的食品领域团队和在国家食品和采购机构工作的团队走出了他们的舒适区,在新的理念下工作,但也为一些原型计划争取资金等实用性。在这个过程中,Vinnova 的支持和指导至关重要。 

这种原型倡议的一个例子是 Vinnova 和瑞典食品署在全国范围内发布了一项呼吁,呼吁市政当局提出有助于食品区使命的学校膳食原型(“瑞典的每个孩子都应该吃可持续和优质的学校食品”) .这些原型必须至少解决以下两个杠杆点:

  • 学生和学校工作人员参与学校膳食系统的设计;
  • 采购和采购可持续食品、产品和服务;  
  • 学校膳食和教学任务之间的联系; 
  • 培养环境、营养和烹饪食品方面的能力; 
  • 用餐环境设计; 
  • 为整个瑞典提供基于证据的学校供餐目标; 
  • 目标的战略、实施和后续行动; 
  • 学校膳食系统作为新的可持续解决方案的研讨会。 

总共有 25 个城市提交了为改变瑞典学校食品系统做出贡献的提案。最终,来自不同地理位置的四个城市被选为项目合作伙伴:Munkedals、Hofors、Vallentuna 和 Karlstad。

以任务为导向的方法

在 Vinnova 内部,食品区是最早尝试和应用以任务为导向的方法的区域之一。总的来说,学校食品项目已被证明是一个重要的学习资源,Vinnova 和其他国家机构现在采用类似方法的任务获得了强劲的动力。 

一些关键的学习包括: 

  • 原型阶段(让不同的利益相关者参与现场测试和试验替代解决方案)对于转型雄心至关重要。
  • 为了实现新的系统理解,从而加强参与者网络和共同愿景,需要不断为广泛的本地企业和社会参与者提供探索和试验替代实践的机会。  
  • 角度阶段,不同的食品参与者首次聚集在一起思考食品系统并确定挑战和可能的解决方案,为多样性开辟空间并为制定共同使命奠定基础。 
  • 来自行业、市场和有组织的社会组织的参与者必须继续参与系统转型过程,以便他们协作创造和培育利基市场。 

关于这种方法的更多见解体现在 Vinnova 的最新 以使命为导向的创新手册,于 2022 年 3 月推出。 

图:Vinnova 任务设计框架的四个步骤。

分析含义

总而言之,可以说,到目前为止所感知到的大多数变化都与政府机构共同努力生产有助于新的可持续粮食系统的替代品有关。然而,虽然这些变化表明了一个对政权进行解构和破坏稳定的过程,但首先必须承认,该政权并非仅由政策行为者组成,其次,虽然这是转型的条件之一,但还不够。作为该过程的一部分,应推进更多针对企业、当地生产商、学校工作人员、家庭和学生的活动。政策变革至关重要,但政策和治理只是制度维度之一。

现在人们普遍承认,瑞典食品系统的可持续做法是迈向系统转型的一种方式。设计有意识的和专门的活动来识别、培育、创建和整合这些替代实践(利基)可能是一个前进的方向。公开呼吁市政当局开发原型可能是扩大和深化网络、学习和导航期望的好策略。这是识别和加强正在进行的与可持续食品相关的本地化举措的一种方式,但不是唯一的方式。从战略上保护实施替代做法的小型参与者网络对于解锁转型至关重要,而不是优化当前不可持续的做法。这方面的政策设计对于任务的成功至关重要。

以任务为导向的方法非常注重在创新参与者之间建立和加强联系,以实现“瑞典的每个孩子都能吃到可持续和优质的学校食品”。在这次尝试中,Vinnova 成为政府机构之间解决协调和系统故障的中介。迄今为止确定的成果主要针对扩大和深化粮食系统参与者之间的协调,其方法论提供了通过互动学习的空间。现在有一种方法可以推动转型,超越原型和预期的中期成果,以实现瑞典与食品相关的可持续发展目标。更加注重为可持续替代品创造机会以促进繁荣、扩大规模和制度化似乎是一条明智的途径。在这项工作中,使用寻求转型的形成性评估来指导政策设计和实施可以提供更多要素,以继续获得 Vinnova 和其他政府机构的内部支持。

团队正在考虑与利基识别、培育和加强相关的结果设定的新阶段。 Vinnova 可能会保护原型和演示者,并提供更多的实验场所,为潜在的利基市场开辟空间。形成性评估至关重要,这样利基和政权行为者才能学习、适应、传播实践并扩大他们的倡议。

Vinnvoa 博客系列

要了解有关 Vinnova/TIPC 实验的更多信息,请关注博客系列:

博客1: 改变瑞典的食品系统 

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

TIPC
Search

An analysis of Vinnova’s mission to transform the Swedish Food System

Blog

With the TIPC Vinnova experiment coming to a close after two years of collaboration, the TIPC team has conducted a concluding analysis to uncover to what extent the objectives and desired outcomes of the project have been reached, which challenges remain and how to move forward. The analysis shows a growing consensus for the need to transform Sweden’s food system. It indicates that some key actors in the food system have started collaborating much more closely and suggests concrete pathways for utilizing this potential further and for maximising and evaluating the generated impact.

Vinnova is Sweden’s innovation agency, helping to build Sweden’s innovation capacity and contributing to sustainable growth. Over the past year, Vinnova has experimented and worked intensively with missions in which different actors work in the same direction towards a common objective. With this approach, Vinnova aims to achieve system change by bringing together actors from different sectors, industries and disciplines to address a boldly inspiring and measurable objective that must be achieved within a certain period of time. The defined goal must have an effect on society and politics and be of relevance to a large part of the population. 

By means of applying the TIPC methodology, consisting of developing a Transformative Theory of Change with Transformative Outcomes and applying Formative Evaluation along the policy cycle, the TIPC/Vinnova team embarked on a learning journey aimed at supporting the mission of Vinnova’s food area, namely that “Every child in Sweden should eat sustainable and good school food” and ultimately transforming Sweden’s food system as a whole. 

A Transformative Theory of Change

To gain a better understanding of influences, actors, dependencies, opportunities and challenges and to form the basis for developing a Theory of Change, the TIPC/Vinnova team developed various pathways for transforming Sweden’s food system. A Theory of Change establishes the chain of causality to achieve the desired change of an intervention, linking inputs, activities and (short-term) outputs contributing to (medium-term) outcomes and (long-term) impacts. It helps actors to reflect and be aware of the change process as a whole. 

The TIPC methodology takes the Theory of Change one step further and combines it with so-called Transformative Outcomes, a conceptual framework that identifies three large-scale change processes in sustainability transitions and 12 equivalent outcomes that set the paths for transformation. The three change processes are: 

  1. Building and nurturing niches, which are protected spaces where innovation occurs;
  2. Expanding and mainstreaming niches;
  3. Opening up and unlocking regimes, which are the dominant and often unsustainable ways to provide socio-technical needs, such as supplying energy, food or transport services. 

Reflecting the food area’s mission and based on the transformation pathways, the TIPC/Vinnova team developed a Theory of Change with Transformative Outcomes to generate a roadmap for transformation and achieving the biggest possible impact. Three (Transformative) Outcomes related to opening and unlocking regimes were prioritized to move along the intended transformation in the Swedish food system. They are listed in the table below:

Outcome Assumptions Transformative Outcomes
New understanding of the food system in terms of agents and configurations
The food system displays in some areas a rigid and conservative way of working, which impacts its transformative innovation capacity. A systemic understanding of the challenges can lead to changes in the different value chains towards sustainability.
Unlearning and deep learning in regimes; Strengthening regime-niche interactions.
Policy and business actors within the food system change their perception and behaviour towards the relationship between the three dimensions of sustainability
As long as economic growth and productivity are seen as the overarching goals by the sector's dominant policy and industry actors, it will be challenging to enable rapid transformative change towards a fully sustainable food system.
Changing perceptions of landscape pressures; Unlearning and deep learning in regimes
Government agencies are working together to produce alternatives for new sustainable food systems
In order to enhance the possibility of changing the food system, different government agencies must work together with a joint vision on where to go.
Dealigning and destabilising regimes

Table: Transformative Outcomes defined in Theory of Change for Vinnova’s food mission

By means of analysing project and workshop reports, internal work documents, learning histories and conducting a number of interviews with key actors working in Vinnova’s food area, the concluding analysis aims to reflect on how far Vinnova has unlocked transformation with the process undertaken from 2019 until today and to guide further activities in the coming phases of the food area’s mission work.

New understanding of the food system in terms of agents and configurations

For a mission-oriented approach, a key factor to success is creating a systemic understanding of complex challenges, which requires the inclusion of varied constellations of key actors, institutions and authorities operating in the system that is to be transformed. Challenges are defined by multiple visions of the actors and not given as a starting point.

For the mission of Vinnova’s food area, this meant conveying a new understanding of the crucial role that school food plays in transforming Sweden’s food system as a whole and recognising the need for innovation, renewal and challenging the rigid and conservative ways of working that prevail in the sector, as well as the impact this could generate. Through organising co-creation workshops and prototyping alternative practices with various food system actors, including entrepreneurs, food producers, chefs, teachers, students, families, school administrative staff, and municipality representatives, and allowing them to interact and reflect, a shared understanding of the systemic challenges and opportunities was fostered.  

Bringing together such a wide range of niche and regime actors, strengthened a system perspective on school food, meaning that a greater awareness for interdependencies and interrelations of stakeholders and the potential for leverage points and accelerating change was created. People involved in the workshops defined key challenges they were experiencing within the food system, considering various roles and perspectives. For example, the policy point of view, the food producers’ perspective, managing the logistics and being active consumers at the same time. The approach aimed at empowering participants to be part of the transformation process from the beginning, rather than passive observers of a given problem with a set list of proposed solutions. This yielded opportunities for defining common missions and pathways and forming new coalitions. Participants were found to have broadened their understanding of the food system (e.g. related to the diversity of actors), enriching their everyday experience by striving for action and recognising their role as change agents. A general change in mindset was visible amongst participants, who gained a better perspective of the food system’s complexity and saw the implications related to it.

Increased recognition of the three dimensions of sustainability

Source: UNSSC Knowledge Centre for Sustainable Development

The 2030 Agenda commits the global community to “achieving sustainable development in its three dimensions—economic, social and environmental—in a balanced and integrated manner”.

Therefore, the second outcome of Vinnova’s food area aimed at changing the perception and behaviour of policy and business actors within the food system towards the relationship between the three dimensions. This was based on the assumption that as long as economic growth and productivity are seen as the overarching goals by the sector’s dominant policy and industry actors, it will be challenging to enable rapid transformative change towards a fully sustainable food system.

To this date, the data sources do not show direct evidence of policy and business representatives enhancing their perception of sustainability. However, the mission is at an early stage and monitoring changes in perception should be ongoing as things are likely to advance.

Government agencies are collaboratively working towards new sustainable food systems

Vinnova’s food area presumes that to enhance the possibility of transforming the food system, different government agencies must work together with a joint vision on where to go. Ultimately, such a collaboration would result in ‘dealigning and destabilising regimes’, meaning that dominant unsustainable practices and policies are challenged and ultimately replaced by alternatives, contributing to a regenerated sustainable food system.

The conducted research shows strong evidence that Vinnova’s mission-oriented food methodology has successfully connected different government agencies to build a common approach towards food sustainability in Sweden. This approach manifests a systemic view to addressing complex problems in a participatory, non-reactive manner and fosters deep learning towards a more holistic perspective that goes beyond a ‘compartmentalised mandate’ way of thinking. Up until now, a number of food and procurement agencies have come on board, as well as various municipalities of local governments. Hence, while there is a lot to be done still in regards to convincing other agencies and the central governments, seeds have been planted for generating collaborative work. 

Generally, tapping into this was a high risk taken since the approach was an experiment for Vinnova as well and the process was stretching the dominant way of policy design and implementation. Vinnova’s food area team and the teams working in the national food and procurement agencies stepped out of their comfort zones in terms of working with a new rationale, but also practicalities like securing funding for some of the prototype initiatives. Vinnova’s support and guidance were critical in this process. 

An example of such a prototype initiative was Vinnova’s and the Swedish Food Agency’s release of a country-wide call for municipalities to propose school meal prototypes that contribute to the food area’s mission (“Every child in Sweden should eat sustainable and good school food”). These prototypes had to address at least two of the following leverage points:

  • Involvement of students and school staff in the design of the school meal system;
  • Procurement and purchase of sustainable food, products and services;  
  • A connection between the school meal and the pedagogical task; 
  • Building competencies on environmental, nutritious and culinary food; 
  • Design of the meal environment; 
  • An evidence-based goal for school meals for the whole of Sweden; 
  • Strategies, implementation and follow-up of the objectives; 
  • The school meal system as a workshop for new sustainable solutions. 

In total, twenty-five municipalities submitted proposals for contributing to transforming Sweden’s school food system. Ultimately, four municipalities from different geographical locations were selected to become project partners: Munkedals, Hofors, Vallentuna, and Karlstad.

Mission-oriented approach

Within Vinnova, the food area was one of the first ones to experiment with and apply the mission-oriented approach. Generally, the school food project has proven to be an important learning source, with missions gaining strong momentum within Vinnova and other national agencies now applying a similar methodology. 

Some key learnings include: 

  • The prototypes phase (engaging diverse stakeholders into field-testing and experimenting with alternative solutions) is paramount for the transformation ambition.
  • To achieve a new system understanding, leading to strengthened networks of actors and a shared vision, a wide range of local businesses and social actors need to continuously be provided with opportunities to explore and experiment with alternative practices.  
  • The angles phase, in which different food actors come together for the first time to reflect on the food system and determine the challenges and possible solutions, carves out space for diversity and lays the groundwork for developing a common mission. 
  • It is essential for actors from the industries, markets and organised society organisations to stay engaged in system transformation processes for them to collaboratively create and nurture niches. 

More insights on this approach are manifested in Vinnova’s latest handbook on Mission-oriented innovation, which was launched in March 2022. 

Figure: The four steps in Vinnova’s mission-design framework.

Analysis implications

In conclusion, it can be said that most of the changes perceived to this point are related to government agencies working together to produce alternatives that contribute to a new sustainable food system. However, while these changes indicate a process of dealigning and destabilising regimes it firstly has to be acknowledged that the regime is not composed of policy actors only, and secondly, while this is one of the conditions for transformation, it is insufficient. More activities focused on businesses, local producers, school staff, families and students should be advanced as part of the process. Policy changes are critical, but policy and governance are only one of the regime dimensions.

It is now widely acknowledged that sustainable practices in the Swedish food system are a way to move towards system transformation. Designing intentional and dedicated activities to identify, nurture, create and integrate such alternative practices (niches) can be a way forward. The open call for municipalities to develop prototypes can be a good strategy for broadening and deepening networks, learning, and navigating expectations. It is one way, but not the only one to identify and strengthen ongoing localised initiatives related to sustainable food. Strategically shielding the small networks of actors that carry out alternative practices is critical to unlocking transformation instead of optimising the current unsustainable practices. Policy design in this respect is crucial for the success of the mission.

The mission-oriented methodology has a strong focus on generating and enhancing linkages between innovation actors to achieve that “Every child in Sweden eats sustainable and good school food”. In this attempt, Vinnova becomes an intermediary between government agencies to solve coordination and systemic failures. The outcomes defined so far are mainly directed towards broadening and deepening coordination among food system actors, with a methodology that offers spaces for learning by interacting. Now there is a way to move the transformation forward beyond the prototypes and the expected mid-term outcomes to achieve Sweden’s food-related SDGs. A stronger focus on creating opportunities for sustainable alternatives to thrive, scale-up and institutionalise seems like a sensible pathway. In this endeavour, the use of a formative evaluation seeking for transformation to guide the policy design and implementation can provide more elements to keep engaging internal support from Vinnova and other government agencies.

A new coming phase for outcomes setting related to the niches identification, nurturing and strengthening is being considered by the team. Vinnova might shield prototypes and demonstrators, with more experimentation arenas to open up the space for potential niches. The formative evaluation is crucial so that niche and regime actors can learn, adapt, circulate practices and scale up their initiatives.

Vinnvoa Blog Series

To learn more about the Vinnova/TIPC experiment, follow the blog series:

Blog 1: Transforming Sweden’s Food System 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.