转型创新政策 (TIP) 会议,2022 年 1 月 17-21 日

2022 年 TIP 会议:“建立关于转型创新政策的可持续知识基础设施”

变革创新政策联盟 (TIPC) 和 欧洲研究与创新政策研究论坛 (Eu-SPRI) 邀请您参加将于 2022 年 1 月 17 日至 21 日以数字方式举行的 2022 年 TIP 会议。会议的主题是“建立可持续的变革创新政策知识基础设施”。

“参与和倡议呼吁”的开放时间为 2021 年 6 月 18 日至 2021 年 9 月 4 日。  

为什么我们需要创新来实现变革?

我们需要紧急加速零输入转型,让每个人都能生存下去。可持续发展目标 (SDG) 中提出的全球议程为开发和促进可操作的知识奠定了基础。在可持续发展方面经历了数十年的错误开端,并试图通过将渐进式变化融入不可持续的关键系统(如食品、能源和交通)来缓解气候危机之后,必须全速推进整个可持续发展的转型。将全球变化创新与跨学科和跨学科战略联系起来需要 实验性和包容性平台 让政策制定者、研究人员、从业人员、投资者和其他关键专业人士参与进来。我们开辟了一个包容性的数字空间来传播知识,并拥有一个学习平台来平衡温室气体排放对气候的净影响。

背景

实施变革性变革的一个关键问题是占主导地位的现任行为者与那些提出新颖和替代性可持续举措的人之间复杂且往往是冲突的政治关系。因此,变革性创新政策 (TIP) 需要反思性的治理策略,允许对未来基于实验的路径进行多种框架。在不限制自下而上倡议的出现的情况下指导不同的方向是一个共同的挑战。

STI 机构可以扮演多种角色——作为战略参与者、资助者、中间人和经纪人来塑造可持续发展方向。与科技创新机构一样,国家在转型过程中可以发挥多种作用。通过重塑监管、标准、战略方向和愿景,政治合法化可以帮助克服这些路径依赖性并减少私营、公共和第三部门代理的不确定性。企业、跨国公司、金字塔底层企业家和非政府组织 (NGO) 的地位在重新调整已建立的市场关系方面发挥着重要作用。参与者网络之间的互动学习,以应对技术和市场的不确定性,是至关重要的。致力于开发新的可持续发展途径以帮助他们为经济制定零碳战略的公司可以看到他们的业务蓬勃发展。 '维持能力' 应该包括对气候融资和碳市场的认识——可持续性满足严格的财务指标。

一个鼓励并基于实验邀请“倡议”的会议

2022 年 TIP 会议是正在进行的合作和网络建设过程的一部分。会议在构建块中发展,对话在其他主要会议的研讨会中启动 - 2021 欧盟SPRI会议, IST会议全球会议 以及 TIPC学习活动,通过会议和活动编织一系列讨论,为 2022 年 1 月以 TIP 会议作为压轴活动铺平道路。其目的是将从事 TIP 工作的不同参与者的社区联系起来,并通过发起关于 TIP 的不同设计、方法、方法、管理和实施的辩论来相互学习。

TIP 会议被设计为一个用于交流、会议和发展想法的开放平台。这就是为什么我们邀请“倡议倡议”而不是征集论文的原因。通过提供跨部门和多参与者的经验,会议还可以成为将一系列想法发展为实验项目的场所。

我们充分利用数字技术解决方案来重新思考、重新定位和改造会议,使其成为具有包容性和灵活性的聚会空间,从而有助于提高碳、能源和资源效率的流程和行业。地方和区域相遇也可以是混合的一部分,并且将包括实验形式以始终鼓励低碳排放。

我们打算推进对变革性(以多种方式)创新政策的编排、协调和分析的研究。我们的目标是建立对全球北方和全球南方的社会和政治现实敏感的知识基础设施 (KI) 并赋予其意义。因此,会议还将为理解理论以及收集系统转型的经验证据以支持当前和未来的 TIP 计划提供相关性和灵活的学习空间。

会议成为一个多层次的适应性实验,有助于建立以变革成果为指导的可持续转型的知识基础设施[1].我们的目标是组织强大的人员、人工制品和机构网络,以生成、共享和维护有关人类和自然世界的特定知识,或 KI[2].我们鼓励广泛而深入的参与,通过构建无处不在、可靠和持久的 KI 来探索 TIP 的概念化和实践范围[3].

会议欢迎广泛的利益相关者,例如:

  • 来自不同学科的早期职业和高级研究人员和学者
  • 实践者和政策制定者
  • 来自多个领域(交通、食品、水、金融、住房等)的行业从业者
  • 发展机构
  • 草根创新者和企业家
  • 非政府组织
  • 媒体
  • 私人投资者

我们强烈鼓励各种参与者的参与,包括年轻人、职业生涯早期的参与者和全球南方参与者。

会议能带来什么?

  • 动员有助于变革创新政策不断发展的行动研究议程的人员、想法和举措
  • 交付会话的实验格式
  • 鼓励网络和共同创造的互动环境
  • 低环境影响和包容性数字设置
  • 在会议活动中拥有平等发言权的参与者的包容性和平衡性组合

我们对参与者的期望

  • 积极参与活动
  • 对跨学科环境的开放性
  • 积极倾听和承诺
  • 加速可持续发展转型和转型途径的想法和贡献

会议主题

我们诚邀您提交与系统转型相关的项目、倡议、实验、想法,包括但不限于以下主题:

  • 变革创新的概念化:基本 TIP 要素的解释和上下文使用,以及其他系统转型创新方法。
  • 实验在变革中的作用:框架、定义和执行社会技术实验的证据,考虑到包容性、挑战主导、实践为基础、适应不确定性或实际参与的其他相关方面。
  • 从实验到主流化和嵌入:为了发生转变,实验中的经验需要传播,并在原始以外的其他背景下被吸收。这些主流化和嵌入过程通过需要进一步探索的各种机制(即复制适应、扩展、制度框架)发生。
  • 景观事件对变革性变化的作用:快速的外部冲击,如大流行(例如 COVID-19),作为扩大突破性利基创新的触发因素,并迫使现有制度的创造者开放它们。
  • 变革性变革的政策和治理:实验框架的反思性治理策略,例如预期框架(即关于执行性、规范性、期望的反思性辩论)、实验组合、替代未来、扩大实验以实现灵活的稳定性,以及框架设置的作用释放实验之外的泛化过程。
  • 变革性变革的变革者:政府和部委、商业和私营企业家、社会运动和民间组织在触发或阻碍不可持续和不平等的社会技术制度方面的作用。
  • 转换路径的地理:特定于环境的现实需要对空间和规模的不同方法和理解。承认全球北方和全球南方的不同需求。旨在反思性和学习转型的方法论、设计、工具。
  • TIP 评估:超越问责制的学习和网络建设形成过程的方法。
  • 转型的知识基础设施:设计、实施、评估平台以开发 TIP 研究知识和实践;转型知识基础设施的意义和运作。

会议形式和贡献

贡献的形式是灵活的,我们欢迎参与者提出建议,以尝试不同的学习和互动参与形式。

合作贡献: 遵循 TIPC 和 Eu-SPRI 所秉持的共同创造精神,我们邀请同事作为一个利益相关者团队参与或参与同一项目。例如,由一组研究人员和决策者组成的枢纽;由非政府组织代表和项目经理或任何其他适当组合组成的团队。也欢迎个人建议。

我们邀请以下提案:

  • 小组讨论:这些会议是由一位主席提议和组织的,他们已经邀请了已确认的发言人。在 60 或 90 分钟的讨论中,主席(主持人)将介绍小组的 TIP 主题并简要介绍每次演讲的有用背景。最多邀请四位演讲者进行 10 分钟的演讲,展示他们对小组主题的看法和经验。会谈之后,演讲者之间进行了深入的讨论或辩论(两者都是受欢迎的),并且在主席的协助下,观众也提出了问题。混合小组是首选(例如,包括来自政策、学术界、从业者等的发言人),欢迎在此描述中进行配置。例如,与一位主席、一位主要发言人和三位讨论者进行回应的会议。
  • “投球你的转变!”会议:这些课程最多持续 60 分钟。最多三个 10 分钟的演讲将突出并展示有效的变革方法!合作、社区伙伴关系和计划、应用于实践的研究结果、公民参与等都被邀请成为简洁的演讲,展示在该方法中特别有效的方法。观众带着问题参与进来,然后进行简短的讨论。
  • 示范: 您有想要与 TIP 社区分享的数字内容吗?我们邀请您通过在海报、视频(长达三分半钟)或预先录制的采访(例如,您自己采访参与变革计划的团队的采访)中展示其最鲜明的特点来展示它讨论您的倡议并分享细节)。范围广泛的参与者将能够通过访问会议网站上专门用于这项工作的空间来访问它。我们将致力于在作为 TIP 会议一部分的定制会议中讨论选定的倡议。
  • 协作练习:这些会议长达 90 分钟,参与者使用数字白板(例如)进行现场协作,以解决特定问题、从不同角度构建转型叙事或找到将利益相关者聚集在一起的方法。任何协作练习都可能在现实生活中进行后续跟进。会议在主题和方法方面是开放的,但是,它需要协作并以实际成果为导向。在课程结束时,参与者应该能够体验到日常现实中所讨论内容的好处和影响,类似于您从锻炼中体验到的好处!该格式可以容纳更多的实验形式,最大限度地减少演示的数量(例如,介绍和最多两个非常短的 5 分钟演示),并让观众参与实验性思考和实践(例如,试验技术诀窍) 、方法和工具)。
  • 其他格式 正如参与者所建议的那样:我们欢迎您的首选格式,并将尽力满足您的要求。请在意向书中尽可能详细说明,以便我们也了解您的要求和技术规范
  • 博客: 欢迎参与者制作一个博客来配合他们的倡议,并描述它的变革之处以及它如何为变革开辟道路。我们邀请对已对 TIP 产生丰富见解的倡议和合作进行反思,每个倡议和合作最多 600 字;我们将在会议网站上并作为会议空间的一部分分享这些内容。

怎样申请

请向我们发送不超过 1000 字的意向书 (EoI)。

您的意向书应包括:

  • 会议评选主题
  • 对您的倡议的描述,包括目的和目标、方法和结果(如果及时)以及您正在采取的变革方法
  • 您提供会话的首选格式
  • 您想通过参加TIP会议达到什么目的
  • 除了要在 EasyChair 上提交的隶属关系和联系方式之外,有关您的工作部门和地区的信息

提交您的意向书:

  1. 请下载 “意向书”表格 并完成它。
  2. 创建一个 EasyChair 帐户(免费)
  3. 点击 EasyChair 提交链接 添加贡献者详细信息并将表单上传为 PDF 文件
  4. 请提交您的意向书 到 2021 年 9 月 4 日.

在您提交之后,会议团队可能会联系以索取更多信息和/或讨论会议的交付形式。如果审查小组认为这可以作为会议的工作平台实现目标,则可在此阶段提供项目之间的联系。

关键日期

行动日期
  • 意向书打开:
2021 年 6 月 18 日
  • 意向书 最后期限:
2021 年 9 月 4 日
  • 录用通知:
2021 年 9 月 30 日

报名费及流程

没有注册费 为 TIP 会议。我们目前正在探索开放自愿捐款的机会,更多信息将很快公布。

会议注册链接将通过会议网站和社交媒体公布。

保持联系所有更新: 订阅我们的新闻在推特上关注我们。

会议邮箱: TIPC@sussex.ac.uk

克里斯蒂娜·米亚里蒂: C.Miariti@sussex.ac.uk

戴安娜·贝拉斯科: dcvelmal@ingenio.upv.es

请与同事和您的网络分享这个倡议。我们期待着欢迎您参加 2022 年 TIP 会议!

代表 TIPC 和 EU-SPRI

约翰·肖特教授

科学委员会联合主席

戴安娜·贝拉斯科博士

学术带头人

马蒂亚斯·韦伯教授

科学委员会联合主席

变革创新政策联盟 (TIPC) 是一个由政策制定者、资助者和研究人员组成的全球知识平台,他们正在为创新政策的“第三框架”开辟道路,即转型创新政策 (TIP)。 TIP 旨在应对全球社会挑战,并将社会和环境问题置于其议程的核心。该联盟开发了 TIPC 方法,这是一个多步骤的学习之旅,它使用形成性评估作为实现变革性结果的跳板。该方法现在被应用于一系列实时政策实验,在不同的区域背景下了解什么是有效的并产生证据。

欧洲研究与创新政策研究论坛 (Eu-SPRI) 是一个由 STI 政策领域领先的研究机构组成的网络,聚集了专注于知识创造和创新政策和治理的跨学科研究人员。 Eu-SPRI 论坛于 2010 年获得资助,如今包括 19 个机构,这些机构来自不同学科,如经济学、政治学、社会学、科学技术研究、工商管理、地理和历史。 Eu-SPRI 社区在系统创新方面进行了广泛的工作,并且一直将注意力转移到针对社会挑战的 STI 政策更具方向性和变革性的方法上。

TIPC 和 Eu-SPRI,连同 可持续性转型研究网络 (STRN) 地球人/非洲人,自 2018 年以来,在之前的 TIPC 会议期间,一直将“变革性创新政策”作为主题,在网络会议和一系列网络间对话研讨会中设有与 TIP 相关的小组。这些导致出版了 变革性创新政策 (TIP) 研究议程 (2020 年 9 月) 作为工作文件。 TIP 研究议程将作为 2022 年 TIP 会议的一部分进行讨论和推进。

我们将继续培育、创造、结合现有的研究和基于经验的知识,这些知识是由不同参与者网络的集体行动所建立的。会议将有助于应对变革性变革的挑战,并留下新的伙伴关系遗产,以帮助打造可持续的未来。

2022 年 TIP 会议由变革性创新政策联盟 (TIPC) 和欧洲研究与创新政策研究论坛 (Eu-SPRI) 组织和资助,全球和非洲成员的参与以及 可持续性 过渡研究网络 (STRN) 成员。

 

参考

[1] 参见 http://www.tipconsortium.net/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/ 中的 Ghosh, B., Kivimaa, P., Ramirez, M., Schot, J., Torrens, J., (2020)转型成果-TIPC-working-paper.pdf

[2] 爱德华兹,PN (2010)。 一台巨大的机器:计算机模型、气候数据和全球变暖的政治.麻省理工学院出版社。

[3] 根据 Borgman, CL, Edwards, PN, Jackson, SJ, Chalmers, MK, Bowker, GC, Ribes, D., ... & Calvert, S. (2013) 的知识基础设施特征。知识基础设施:知识框架和研究挑战。

团队成员

戴安娜·贝拉斯科
Ingenio CSIC-UPV 研究员
约翰·肖特
Prof. in Global History & Sustainability Transitions
马蒂亚斯·韦伯
AIT 奥地利理工学院创新系统和政策中心负责人
克里斯蒂娜·米亚里蒂
TIPC 项目总监,项目设计和实施
弗朗西斯科·多明格斯
研究支持和通讯助理
皮普·博尔顿
TIPC 研究计划行政协调员

集线器

相关资源

Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP) Conference, 17-21 January 2022

TIP Conference 2022: “Building a Sustainable Knowledge Infrastructure on Transformative Innovation Policy”

The Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC) and the European Forum for Studies of Policies for Research and Innovation (Eu-SPRI) invite you to join the 2022 TIP Conference, to be held digitally from 17-21 January 2022. The theme of the Conference is “Building a sustainable knowledge infrastructure on Transformative Innovation Policy”.

The ‘Call for Participation and Initiatives’ was open from 18 June 2021 until 4 September 2021.  

Why do we need innovation for transformative change?

We need to urgently accelerate the zero-in transformation to keep the planet viable for everyone. The global agenda, summoned in the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), sets the ground for developing and contributing towards actionable knowledge. After decades of false starts in sustainability and attempts to mitigate the climate crisis by fitting incremental changes into unsustainable crucial systems such as food, energy, and mobility, it is imperative to move at full speed through a sustainability transition across all. Linking global-change innovation with inter and transdisciplinary strategies requires experimental and inclusive platforms to engage policymakers, researchers, practitioners, investors and other key professionals. We open up an inclusive digital space to circulate knowledge and have a learning platform that balances the net impact on the climate from greenhouse emissions.

Background

A key issue for enacting transformative change is the complex, and often conflictual, political relations between dominant incumbent actors and those proposing novel and alternative sustainable initiatives. Therefore, transformative innovation policies (TIPs) require reflexive governance strategies that allow multiple framings of future experiment-based pathways. Steering diverse directions, without constraining the emergence of bottom-up initiatives, is a shared challenge.

STI agencies can play multiple roles –  being strategic actors, funders, intermediaries and brokers to shape sustainability directionalities. Along with the STI agencies, the state has several roles to play in the process of transformation. By re-shaping regulation, standards, strategic directions and visions, political legitimation can help overcome these path-dependencies and reduce uncertainty for the private, public and third sector agents. Positionality of business, Multi-National Corporations, bottom of the pyramid entrepreneurs, and Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) play a significant role in reshuffling established market relationships. Interactive learning among actor networks, to cope with technological and market uncertainty, is critical. Companies committed to developing new sustain-ability pathways that help them build zero-carbon strategies for the economy, can see their business thrive. ‘Sustain-Abilities’ should include awareness of climate finance and carbon markets – where sustainability meets hard financial metrics.

A conference that encourages and is based on experimentation inviting ‘initiatives’

The 2022 TIP Conference is part of an ongoing collaboration and network building process.  The conference develops in building blocks with the dialogue kick-starting in workshops across other major conferences – the 2021 Eu-SPRI Conference, IST Conference and the Globelics conference as well as the TIPC learning events, to weave a thread of discussions through sessions and activities that pave the way to January 2022 with the TIP Conference as the finale event. The aim is to connect the community of diverse actors working on TIP and to mutually learn from each other by instigating debates on different designs, approaches, methodologies, management and implementation of TIP.

The TIP conference is designed as an open platform for networking, meeting, and developing ideas.  This is why we are inviting  a “Call for Initiatives” rather than a call for papers. The conference can also be a place to develop sets of ideas into experimental projects by providing a cross-sectoral and multi-actor experience.

We take full advantage of digital technology solutions to rethink, repurpose, and reinvent conferences to be inclusive and flexible gathering spaces, that contribute to more carbon, energy, and resource-efficient processes and industries. Local and regional encounters can also be part of the hybrid, and experimental formats will be included to always encouraging low-carbon emissions.

We intend to advance research on the orchestration, coordination and analysis of innovation policy that is transformative (in multiple ways). We aim to build and give meaning to a Knowledge Infrastructure (KI) that is sensitive to the social and political realities of the Global North and the Global South. Hence, the conference will also provide a relational and flexible learning space for understanding theories as well as collecting empirical evidence of systems transformation to support current and future TIP initiatives.

The conference becomes a multi-layered and adaptive experiment that contributes to building a knowledge infrastructure for sustainability transitions guided by the transformative outcomes[1]. We aim to organise robust networks of people, artefacts, and institutions that generate, share, and maintain specific knowledge about the human and natural worlds, or a KI[2]. We encourage broad and deep participation to explore the scope of conceptualisation and practice of TIP by constructing a ubiquitous, reliable and durable KI[3].

The conference welcomes a wide range of stakeholders, such as:

  • Early career and senior researchers and academics from different disciplines
  • Practitioners and policymakers
  • Industry practitioners from multiple sectors (mobility, food, water, finance, housing, etc)
  • Development agencies
  • Grassroot innovators and entrepreneurs
  • NGOs
  • Media
  • Private investors

We strongly encourage participation from diverse actors including young people, those early in their career, and Global South participants.

What can be expected from the conference?

  • Mobilising people, ideas, initiatives that contribute to an evolving action research agenda for Transformative Innovation Policy
  • Experimental formats for the delivery of sessions
  • An interactive setting that encourages networking and co-creation
  • Low environmental impact and inclusive digital settings
  • An inclusive and balanced mix of participants who share an equal voice in the conference activities

What we expect from the participants

  • Lively participation in the engagements
  • Openness to transdisciplinary settings
  • Active listening and commitment
  • Ideas and contributions to accelerate sustainability transitions and transformative pathways

Conference Themes

We are inviting you to submit a project, initiative, experiment, idea relevant to systemic transformation, including but not restricted to the following themes:

  • Conceptualisation of innovation for transformative change: Interpretations and contextual use of essential TIP elements, and other approaches to innovation for systems transformation.
  • Role of experimentation for transformative change: Evidence of framing, defining and performing socio-technical experimentation taking into account inclusivity, challenge-led, practise-based, adaptation to uncertainty, or other related aspects from practical engagements.
  • From experimentation to mainstreaming and embedding: For transformations to happen, the experiences from experiments need to spread and be taken up in further contexts other than the original. These processes of mainstreaming and embedding happen through a variety of mechanisms in need of further exploration (i.e. replication-adaptation, scaling, institutional framing).
  • The role of landscape events on transformative change: Rapid external shocks, such as a pandemic (e.g. COVID-19), as triggers for expanding breakthrough niche innovations and pressure creators on existing regimes to open them up.
  • Policy and governance for transformative change: Reflexive governance strategies for experiments framing such as anticipatory framings (i.e. reflexive debates on performativity, normativity, expectations), experiments portfolios, alternative futures, scaling-up experiments towards flexible stability, and also the role of framework setting to unleash generalisation processes beyond experimentation.
  • Transformative actors for transformative change: Role of governments and ministries, business and private entrepreneurs, social movements, and civil organisations triggering or hindering unsustainable and unequal socio-technical regimes.
  • Geography of transformation pathways: Context-specific realities call for different approaches and understandings of space and scale. Acknowledgement of differential needs for the Global North and Global South. Methodologies, designs, tools aimed at reflexivity and learning for transformation.
  • Evaluation for TIPs: Approaches towards formative processes of learning and network building beyond accountability.
  • Knowledge infrastructure for transformation: Design, implementation, evaluation of platforms to develop TIP research knowledge and practice; meaning and operationalisation of knowledge infrastructures for transformation.

Format of sessions and contributions

The format of the contributions is flexible and we welcome suggestions by the participants for experimentation with different formats of engagement for learning and interaction.

Collaborative contributions: Following the co-creation spirit that TIPC and Eu-SPRI embrace, colleagues are invited to contribute as a team of stakeholders working on or being involved in the same project. For example, a hub composed by a group of researchers and policymakers; a team of a non-governmental organisation representative and a project manager or any other combination as appropriate. Individual proposals are welcome too.

We invite proposals for:

  • Panel discussions: these sessions are proposed and organised by a Chair with confirmed speakers that they have invited. In a 60 or 90-minute discussion, the Chair (facilitator) will introduce the TIP theme of the Panel and briefly present useful context around each talk. A maximum of four speakers are invited to give 10 minute presentations, presenting their view and experience of the Panel theme. The talks are followed by in-depth discussion or debate (both are welcome) among the speakers and also by questions from the audience facilitated by the Chair. Mixed Panels are preferred (for example, including speakers from policy, academia, practitioners etc.) and configurations within this description are welcome. For example, a session with a Chair, one main speaker and three discussants to respond.
  • ‘Pitch your transformation!’ sessions: these sessions last up to 60 min. Up to three 10- minute presentations will highlight and showcase transformative approaches that work! Collaborations, community partnerships and programmes, research findings applied to practice, citizen engagement and more are invited to become succinct talks that showcase what has worked particularly well in the approach. The audience participates with questions and a short discussion follows.
  • Demonstrations: do you have digital content that you would like to share with the TIP community? We invite you to showcase it by presenting its most distinctive features in a poster, video (up to three and a half minutes long) or pre-recorded interview (for example, an interview of yourself interviewing a team involved in a transformative initiative where you discuss your initiative and share details). A wide range of participants will be able to access it by visiting a dedicated space for this work on the Conference website. We will aim to discuss selected initiatives in a bespoke session as part of the TIP Conference.
  • Collaborative exercises: these are sessions up to 90 minutes where the participants collaborate live using a digital whiteboard (for example) to resolve a specific problem, to frame a transformation narrative in different perspectives or to find ways to bring stakeholders together. Any collaborative exercise may have the potential for a real-life follow-up. The session is open in terms of themes and approaches, however, it needs to be collaborative and oriented to practical outcomes.  At the end of the session participants should be able to experience the benefits and implications of what was discussed in their day-to-day reality, similar to the benefits you experience from exercising! The format can accommodate more experimental formats that minimise the number of presentations (for example, an introduction and a maximum of two very short 5-min. presentations) and engage the audience in experimental thinking and doing (for example, experimenting with know-how, methods and tools).
  • Other formats as suggested by participants: we welcome your preferred format and will do our best to accommodate your requirements. Please be as descriptive as possible in the Expression of Interest so that we understand your requirements and technical specification too
  • Blogs: participants are welcome to produce a blog to accompany their initiative and describe what is transformative about it and how it opens pathways for change. We invite reflections on initiatives and collaborations that have produced rich insights on TIP up to 600 words each; we will share these on the Conference website and as part of the Conference space.

How to apply

Please send us an Expression of Interest (EoI) that does not exceed 1000 words.

Your EoI should include:

  • The conference selection theme
  • A description of your initiative including the aims and objectives, methods and results (if timely) and the transformative approach you are taking
  • Your preferred format for delivering the session
  • What you want to achieve by participating in the TIP conference
  • Information about your work sector and area in addition to your affiliations and contact details to be submitted on EasyChair

To submit your Expression of Interest:

  1. Please download the ‘Expression of Interest’ form and complete it.
  2. Create an EasyChair account (free)
  3. Click on the EasyChair submission link to add the contributor details and upload the form as a PDF file
  4. Please submit your Expression of Interest by 4 September 2021.

Following your submission, the Conference team may get in touch to request more information and/or to discuss the delivery format for your session. Links between projects may be offered at this stage if the review team deems this to serve the Conference’s aims as a working platform.

Key dates

ACTIONDATE
  • Expression of Interest opens:
18 June 2021
  • Expression of Interest deadline:
4 September 2021
  • Notification of acceptance:
30 September 2021

Registration fee and process

There is no registration fee for the TIP Conference. We are currently exploring an opportunity to open up voluntary financial contributions and more information will be announced soon.

A link to register for the Conference will be announced via the Conference website and also on social media.

Keep in touch with all the updates: Subscribe to our Newsletter and Follow us on Twitter.

Conference e-mail: TIPC@sussex.ac.uk

Christina Miariti: C.Miariti@sussex.ac.uk

Diana Velasco: dcvelmal@ingenio.upv.es

Please share this call for initiatives with colleagues and your networks. We look forward to welcoming you to the TIP Conference 2022!

On behalf of TIPC and EU-SPRI

Professor Johan Schot

Co-chair of the Scientific Committee

Dr Diana Velasco

Academic lead

Professor Matthias Weber

Co-chair of the Scientific Committee

The Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC) is a global knowledge platform of policymakers, funders and researchers, who are opening way towards a “third frame” of innovation policy, known as Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP). TIP aims to address global societal challenges and places social and environmental problems at the core of its agenda. The Consortium has developed the TIPC methodology, a multistep learning journey that uses formative evaluation as a springboard toward transformative outcomes. The methodology is now being applied in a series of live policy experiments, in different regional contexts to understand what works and generate evidence.

The European Forum for Studies of Policies for Research and Innovation (Eu-SPRI) is a network of leading research institutes in the areas of STI policy and gathers interdisciplinary researchers focused on policy and governance in knowledge creation and innovation. The Eu-SPRI Forum was funded in 2010, and it includes today 19 institutions working from diverse disciplines such as economics, political science, sociology, science and technology studies, business administration, geography and history.  The Eu-SPRI community has worked extensively on system innovation, and it has been shifting attention to a more directional and transformational approach to STI policy towards societal challenges.

TIPC and Eu-SPRI, together with the Sustainability Transitions Research Network (STRN) and Globelics/AfricaLics, have consistently explored ‘Transformative Innovation Policy’ as a theme since 2018  during the previous TIPC Conferences, with panels related to TIP in the network’s conferences and a range of inter-network dialogue workshops. These led to the publication of a Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP) Research Agenda (September 2020) as a working paper. The TIP Research Agenda will be discussed and progressed as part of the TIP Conference 2022.

We will keep nurturing, creating, combining existing research and experience-based knowledge built from the collective action of a diverse network of actors. The conference will contribute to the challenges of transformative change and leave a legacy of new partnerships to help forge a sustainable future.

The TIP Conference 2022 is organised and funded by the Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC) and the European Forum for Studies of Policies for Research and Innovation (Eu-SPRI) with the participation of Globelics and Africalics members and with the involvement of Sustainability Transitions Research Network (STRN) members.

 

References

[1] See Ghosh, B., Kivimaa, P., Ramirez, M., Schot, J., Torrens, J., (2020) in http://www.tipconsortium.net/ wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Transformation-outcomes-TIPC-working-paper.pdf

[2] Edwards, P. N. (2010). A vast machine: Computer models, climate data, and the politics of global warming. MIT Press.

[3] Characteristics of a knowledge infrastructure according to Borgman, C. L., Edwards, P. N., Jackson, S. J., Chalmers, M. K., Bowker, G. C., Ribes, D., … & Calvert, S. (2013). Knowledge infrastructures: Intellectual frameworks and research challenges.

Team Members

Diana Velasco
Research Fellow at Ingenio CSIC-UPV
Johan Schot
Prof. in Global History & Sustainability Transitions
Matthias Weber
Head of Center for Innovation Systems and Policy at AIT Austrian Institute of Technology
Christina Miariti
TIPC Programme Director, Programme design and implementation
Geraldine Bloomfield
Communications Lead
Francisco Dominguez
Research Support and Communications Assistant
Pip Bolton
TIPC Research Programme Administrative Coordinator

Hubs

Related resources