TIPC
搜索

实现绿色新政博客系列,2021 年 6 月:从农场到餐桌的创新政策——“适应并符合”还是“延伸和转型”?

博客

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Henrik Larsen 讨论了工业食品系统的气候缺陷,以及欧盟的“从农场到餐桌”战略对食品系统和现有参与者的潜在“适合和符合”方法可能无法充分改变食品制度。

欧洲绿色协议 (EGD) 呼吁将粮食系统转型作为到 2050 年实现气候中和的核心目标。 从农场到餐桌策略 (F2F) 是欧盟实现这一目标的主要政策。 F2F 采用全面的政策响应来实现可持续性转型,需要食品价值链中从生产、加工、分销到消费和浪费的所有参与者的参与。它提出了一种新的行动和倡议政策组合,从奖励采用更可持续农业实践的农民的努力,根据健康饮食指南重新配制食品,促进能源效率解决方案,调整营销策略以提供可持续的农业实践。食品,确保食品价格不会削弱公民对食品价值的认知,并根据循环经济原则减少食品包装和浪费。系统性和综合性 F2F 方法从供应方扩展到需求方的考虑,为设计一致和连贯的政策组合以管理和协调欧洲食品系统的转型提供了基础。这种政策风格和重点的改变是非常需要的!

在过去的几十年里,欧洲创造了一种高度不可持续的工业食品和农业模式,在环境、社会和经济方面产生了负面的外部影响。这 欧盟联合研究中心 EDGAR-FOOD 数据库估计,欧盟温室气体排放的 30% 来自食品系统。正如最近的环境评估报告所报告的那样,包括 欧洲环境署, 生物多样性和生态系统服务政府间科学政策平台, 和 政府间气候变化专门委员会, 以高投入、化学密集型作物单一栽培和工业规模饲养场为基础的集约化农业水平不断提高,依赖化肥、杀虫剂和可预防的抗生素使用,系统性地导致负面的环境后果。此外,快速整合造成了结构性权力失衡,将权力从初级生产者转移到食品价值链下游的参与者。这种集中导致了合同农业安排,食品加工商和零售商迫使初级生产者扩大规模并采用工业单一栽培和投入密集型农业方法。

为了实现可持续的粮食系统,F2F 计划寻求促进广泛的利基创新,包括精准农业、创新饲料添加剂和新的基因组技术。这些都以卫星技术、快速宽带互联网和旨在加速绿色和数字化转型的人工智能为基础。这些技术解决方案在改变欧洲食品系统方面的潜力是什么?转换理论表明不同 生态位衍生的过渡途径 其中任一 “适应并符合”既定的社会技术体制或“延伸和改造”它.因此,“适应和顺应”途径侧重于为占主导地位的现有参与者提供竞争力的创新。相比之下,“延伸和转变”途径试图改变社会技术体制中的选择压力和可持续性标准,以支持新进入者并挑战传统的权力平衡。这说明了 联合国粮食及农业组织 替代食物转型途径的对比——强调技术驱动的高效单一栽培;另一个促进从业者主导的弹性多样化农业生态学。

尽管 F2F 有潜力“扩展和改造”现有的农业食品制度,但它在很大程度上依赖于“适合和符合”的途径,支持现有的参与者,如大型工业化农民、农业食品公司和零售商.在不质疑食物系统的基本逻辑的情况下采用了许多解决方案,从而冒着符合而不是改变当前以牺牲自然生态系统和生物多样性为代价的化学和能源密集型工业单一栽培生产模式的风险。例如,生物农药、气候适应性种子和其他生物基产品等投入替代解决方案越来越多地被通常销售农化投入的农化公司商品化并获得专利;因此,农民继续依赖大规模的单一栽培系统和外部投入市场。 地球之友 警告说:“这是一项经典的技术修复,旨在解决由生物技术失败的技术(耐除草剂作物)造成的问题,以及一种将自然商品化和占有自然的新方法。”如果实现,它将巩固化学密集型工业和企业农业,并加强农民对有毒农用化学品和其他工业投入的依赖。同样,F2F 推动的基于生物的经济解决方案,例如先进的生物精炼厂,依赖集约化畜牧业,并有可能使农民进一步陷入不可持续的生产模式或增加对土地和生物质使用的压力。这些导致路径依赖和陷阱的稳定锁定过程需要仔细考虑和管理,正如 可持续粮食系统国际专家小组.

欧洲农民、民间社会组织和政策专家对农业生态越来越感兴趣,他们寻求从强大的游说团体和企业利益中收回决策过程,并促进已建立的农业食品制度的替代方案。如果得到适当的研究和咨询服务的支持,包括有机农业在内的农业生态学可以为欧洲的可持续农业实践设定标准,并赋予小农权力,增强农业生态系统的复原力,并促进基于自然的解决方案,所有这些都在更广泛的粮食安全和主权。这种开创性的利基创新必须由 地平线欧洲关于土壤健康和食品的使命,得到共同农业政策 (CAP) 改革的支持,并与旨在将畜牧业大幅减少到 '安全操作空间',将消费模式转变为健康、可持续和植物性饮食。同样,欧洲各地正在出现许多社会创新,从替代食品网络、社区支持的农业计划到建立地方食品政策委员会。尽管通常没有资格获得 CAP 资金,但这些“延伸和转型”的利基在解决权力失衡和路径依赖、为小农恢复价值以及以恢复民主、问责制和信任的方式重新连接食品企业方面非常有希望。食品系统。

欧洲粮食系统的转型“开辟”了多种转型途径,除了纯粹的技术科学解决方案外,还受到参与式农业生态和社会创新的推动,提出了一种更平衡的方法来转型工业化粮食和农业系统,该系统会系统地产生负面影响。外部性,从集约化农业对环境的影响到整个食品价值链的集中度提高。


亨里克·拉森 (Henrik Larsen) 是该研究所的访问研究员 伦敦大学学院可持续资源研究所.

该博客由 TIPC 和合作伙伴 EIT Climate-KIC 制作

本系列博客的编辑是建筑与城市学院名誉教授 Fred Steward, 威斯敏斯特大学, 伦敦;和 Jon Bloomfield,系统创新政策顾问,气候创新生态系统, 欧洲理工学院气候知识与创新社区 (EIT Climate-KIC).

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。

Making the Green New Deal Happen Blog Series, June 2021: Farm to Fork innovation policy – ‘fit and conform’ or ‘stretch and transform’?

Blog

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Henrik Larsen discusses the climate shortcomings of the industrial food system, and how the EU’s Farm to Fork strategy’s potential ‘fit and conform’ approach to food systems and incumbent actors may not sufficiently transform the food regime.

The European Green Deal (EGD) calls for the transformation of the food system as a core goal to achieve climate-neutrality by 2050. The Farm to Fork strategy (F2F) is the EU’s primary policy to deliver this objective. The F2F embraces a comprehensive policy response to deliver sustainability transitions, requiring the engagement of all actors in the food value chain from production, processing, and distribution to consumption and waste. It proposes a new policy mix of actions and initiatives, from rewarding the efforts of farmers that adopt more sustainable agricultural practices, reformulating food products in line with guidelines for healthy diets, promoting energy efficiency solutions, adapting marketing strategies to provide for the uptake of sustainable food products, ensuring that food prices do not undermine citizens perception of the value of food, and reducing food packaging and waste in line with circular economy principles. The systemic and integrated F2F approach, extending beyond the supply-side to include demand-side considerations, provide a basis for designing consistent and coherent policy mixes to manage and coordinate the transformation of European food systems. This change in policy style and focus is much needed!

Europe has over the past decades created an industrial food and farming model that is highly unsustainable, generating negative externalities across environmental, social, and economic dimensions. The EU Joint Research Centre EDGAR-FOOD database estimates that 30% of EU greenhouse gas emissions arise from food systems. As reported in recent environmental assessment reports, including those of the European Environment Agency, Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services, and Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, increasing levels of intensive agriculture based on high-input, chemical-intensive crop monocultures and industrial-scale feedlots, reliant on fertilisers, pesticides, and preventable use of antibiotics, systemically lead to negative environmental outcomes. Besides, a rapid consolidation has created structural power imbalances, shifting power from primary producers to actors downstream in the food value chain. This concentration results in contract farming arrangements where food processors and retailers pressure primary producers to scale up and adopt industrial monoculture and input-intensive farming methods.

To achieve sustainable food systems, the F2F programme seeks to promote a wide range of niche innovations, including precision agriculture, innovative feed additives, and new genomic techniques. These are underpinned by satellite technologies, fast broadband internet, and artificial intelligence intended to accelerate the green and digital transformation. What is the potential of these technological solutions to transform European food systems? Transitions theory suggests different niche-derived transition pathways which either ‘fit and conform’ to the established socio-technical regime or ‘stretch and transform’ it. Hence, ‘fit and conform’ pathways focus on innovation which offer competitiveness for the dominant incumbent players. In contrast, ‘stretch and transform’ pathways attempt to change the selection pressures and sustainability criteria in the socio-technical regime to favour new entrants and challenge the traditional power balance.  This is illustrated by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations contrast of alternative food transition pathways – one which emphasises technology-driven efficient monoculture; another that promotes practitioner-led resilient diverse agroecology.

Although the F2F has the potential to ‘stretch and transform’ the existing agri-food regime, it largely falls back on a ‘fit and conform’ pathway, supporting incumbent actors such as large-scale industrial farmers, agri-food corporations, and retailers. Many solutions are adopted without questioning the underlying logic of the food system and, thereby, risk conforming to rather than transforming the current chemical- and energy-intensive industrial monoculture production model at the expense of natural ecosystems and biodiversity. For instance, input-substitution solutions such as biopesticides, climate-resilient seeds, and other bio-based products are increasingly commoditised and patented by agro-chemical companies that normally sell agro-chemical inputs; thus, continuing farmers’ dependence on large-scale monoculture systems and external-input markets. Friends of the Earth warns: ‘it is a classic technological fix that seeks to address a problem created by biotech’s failed technology (herbicide tolerant crops), and a new way of commodifying and appropriating nature. If realised, it will entrench chemical-intensive industrial and corporate farming and reinforce peasants’ dependence on toxic agrochemicals and other industrial inputs’. Similarly, F2F-promoted bio-based economy solutions, such as advanced bio-refineries, rely on intensive livestock farming and risk locking farmers further into unsustainable production models or increasing pressure on land and biomass use. These stabilising lock-in processes leading to path dependencies and entrapment need to be carefully considered and managed, as called for by the International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food Systems.

Agroecology is gaining increasing interest from European farmers, civil society organisations, and policy experts who seek to reclaim decision-making processes from powerful lobbies and corporate interests and promote an alternative to the established agri-food regime. If supported by appropriate research and advisory services, agroecology including organic farming could set the standard for sustainable farming practices in Europe and empower small-scale farmers, enhance agroecosystem resilience, and promote nature-based solutions, all within a broader perspective on food security and sovereignty. Such path-breaking niche innovations must be prioritised by the Horizon Europe mission on soil health and food, supported by Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) reforms, and linked to policy measures aimed at drastically reducing livestock farming to a ‘safe operating space’, changing consumption patterns towards healthy, sustainable, and plant-based diets. Similarly, many social innovations are emerging across Europe, from alternative food networks, community-supported agriculture schemes to the creation of local food policy councils. Although often ineligible for CAP funding, these ‘stretch and transform’ niches are highly promising in terms of addressing power imbalances and path dependencies, reclaiming value for small-scale farmers, and reconnecting food businesses in ways that restore democracy, accountability, and trust in food systems.

A transformation of European food systems that ‘opens up’ a plurality of transition pathways, fuelled by participative agroecological and social innovations in addition to purely techno-scientific solutions, presents a more balanced approach to transition an industrial food and farming system that systemically generates negative externalities, from the environmental impacts of intensive agriculture to increased levels of concentration across the food value chain.


Henrik Larsen is a visiting researcher at the UCL Institute for Sustainable Resources.

This blog is produced by TIPC and partner, EIT Climate-KIC

The editors of this blog series are Fred Steward, Emeritus Professor, School of Architecture and Cities, University of Westminster, London; and Jon Bloomfield, Systems Innovation Policy Advisor, Climate Innovation Ecosystems, the European Institute of Technology’s Climate Knowledge & Innovation Community (EIT Climate-KIC).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *