TIPC

实现绿色新政博客系列,2022 年 5 月:IPCC 最新报告的政治

Thinking & Analysis

的出版 6 IPCC 气候变化评估报告 (AR6) 四月不可避免地被乌克兰的残酷战争所掩盖。新报告的重点是如何减缓气候变化。这是 IPCC 发布后最新评估周期的第三部分 AR6第一部分, 2021 年 8 月,阐述了地球气候如何以及为何发生变化,以及 AR6第二部分,在 2022 年 2 月,阐述了气候变化的影响。在第三份报告发布时,联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯表示,这是一份“耻辱的文件,对让我们坚定地走向一个不宜居住的世界的空洞承诺进行分类”。

该报告的 17 章涵盖了气候议程的各个方面,共 2,913 页。在为期两周的虚拟会议上,来自 195 个国家/地区的政府代表团就决策者摘要达成了共识。不可避免地,文件的风格是谨慎的,语言往往是技术性的。该报告敦促政策制定者和政界人士接受一些明确的信息,其中一些是 TIPC 读者所熟悉的。这些是什么?

问题的紧迫性

毫无疑问,最重要的信息是它的紧迫性。报告很清楚:未能达到峰值和减少排放 这十年 将使限制全球气温上升的巴黎目标越来越“遥不可及”。未来几年至关重要。正如该报告的联合主席 Jim Skea 在报告发布会上所说,“如果我们想将全球变暖限制在 1.5°C (2.7°F),要么现在要么永远不会。如果所有部门都没有立即和深度减排,这将是不可能的。”

需要根据这个基准来判断政府政策和部长级声明。这就是为什么成功实施 欧洲绿色协议 尤其是对以下方面的措施 家庭装修和绝缘 如此重要。相比之下, 英国政府能源安全白皮书 非常强调新核电站的好处,这些新核电站最早还要再过十年才能投产。正如 IPCC 报告所警告的那样,拖延的时间越长,锁定碳密集型基础设施的危险就越大,社会就越难以转向低碳轴心。

可再生能源

其次,报告肯定了可再生能源革命取得的实际进展。 “2010年以来,多项低排放技术的单位成本持续下降。太阳能、风能和锂离子电池的全球平均成本分别下降了85%、55%和85%。”这些关键技术的单位成本降低增加了低排放能源部门转型的经济吸引力,特别是随着存储容量的增加,到 2030 年,世界应该会出现巨大的扩张。德国政府计划将太阳能产量增加到 200GW,英国打算到 2035 年将太阳能产量提高五倍,这些都是符合 IPCC 情景的承诺。

总体而言,该报告称,整合大量“可变可再生能源”,特别是风能和太阳能,对“电力系统管理提出了经济和技术挑战”。这些挑战可以通过使用电池、氢气和其他存储以及更大的“需求方反应” 利用灵活的网格。通过这些手段,报告判断“主要由可再生能源供电的电力系统在未来几十年将越来越可行”。

在其他可再生能源方面,该报告更为谨慎。核电“继续受到成本超支、前期投资需求高、放射性废物最终处置挑战以及公众接受程度和政治支持不一的影响”。关于目前深受欧盟委员会和德国工业界青睐的氢,它指出,“作为一般规则,直接使用电力会更有效,并避免因制氢而造成的越来越大的转化损失。”尽管如此,它指出了它在难以脱碳的领域的潜在用途,例如重型公路运输和工业的一部分。

改变行为 

IPCC 首次将一章专门用于“缓解的需求、服务和社会方面”。需求侧气候措施通过针对技术的采用和人们的消费模式来减少高排放商品和服务的使用。例子包括减少家庭能源消耗,让人们更容易使用更清洁的交通工具,或者吃更多的植物性食物,从而减少肉类消费。

这是一个值得欢迎的发展,因为行为和文化变化代表了一个迄今为止在官方文件中一直被忽视的领域。该报告使用 避免转移改进 探索需求方措施备选方案的框架。例如,在运输部门,排放可能是 避免 通过消除不必要的上班和/或在家工作;剩余的行程可能是 转移 从汽车到公共汽车或自行车;公共汽车本身可能是 改善 通过用非化石燃料模型替换它。该报告意识到“除非嵌入结构和文化变化中,否则个人行为变化不足以缓解气候变化”。公司、机构和公共当局必须改变和促进更广泛的变革趋势,例如向共享经济、循环经济和数字化方向发展。

也许,该报告低估了实现这些类型转变的困难。引进经验 人流量少的街区 大流行期间英国城镇的(LTN)经常引起强烈反对,并经常在社交媒体上以民粹主义的方式放大。关于食物,由 西班牙政府消费者事务部长 工厂化养殖正在破坏环境并导致劣质肉类出口引发强烈反对,政府高级部长急于捍卫肉类行业只是一个例子。这 欧盟的 9 点计划 与国际能源署一起为公民和公司节省能源并减少对俄罗斯化石燃料的依赖将是对这些改变行为建议的有效性的更广泛测试。

城市

随着地球的持续快速城市化,该报告特别关注三种类型的城市。与欧洲大多数城市一样,成熟城市将通过更换或改造建筑存量、“战略性填充和致密化”以及使依赖清洁能源的城市能源系统电气化来实现最高的碳减排。与此同时,快速扩张的城市可以通过“跨越到低碳技术”和更好的城市规划来避免未来更高的排放,“将工作和住房放在一起,以实现紧凑的城市形态”。对于新兴城市,该报告呼吁“具有混合土地利用和以交通为导向的设计的紧凑、位于同一地点且适合步行的城市区域”。在所有三个城市类别中,如果城市要提高资源效率并转向低碳轴,那么与非国家行为者和公民进行对话和协商的仔细空间规划至关重要。

创新模式。

这也是 IPCC 报告首次包含创新章节。它遵循社会技术转型思维,概述了创新的关键阶段,从出现和早期采用到扩散,利基发展成为主流——就像现在的太阳能和风能一样。

结论

本报告涵盖了大量此处未涉及的领域——农业和土地使用、运输和工业的脱碳。它表明,实现巴黎气候变化目标仍然是可能的,但只有通过巨大的社会努力。方法很广泛;认识到需要改变经济和社会的所有部分;并且它需要是全球性的。该报告没有明确说明这一点,但很明显,世界上每个国家都必须发挥自己的作用。在全球危机时刻,如果像俄罗斯这样的大国成为被排斥在国际气候变化努力之外的贱民国家,巴黎的目标就无法实现。我们荣辱与共。 IPCC 报告显示,迫切需要采取变革性行动。

也许不可避免地在一份由各国政府官员仔细研究的文件中,最终的语言并不明确。然而,核心信息是显而易见的:

  • 气候变化是一项不容拖延的巨大挑战;
  • 为了解决这个问题,世界需要在这十年中改变轨道;
  • 这需要政府广泛干预,并与企业和民间社会行为者合作。

这些是政策制定者和政治家需要接受的关键 IPCC 信息,以免为时已晚。

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

TIPC
Search

Making the Green New Deal Happen Blog Series, May 2022:The Politics of the Latest IPCC Report

Blog

The publication of 6th IPCC assessment report (AR6) on climate change in April was inevitably overshadowed by  the brutal war in Ukraine. The new report focused on how to mitigate climate change. It was the third part of the IPCC’s latest assessment cycle following the publication of the first part of AR6, in August 2021, which set out how and why the Earth’s climate is changing and the second part of AR6, in February 2022, which laid out the impacts of climate change. At the launch of this third report, UN secretary-general António Guterres said it was a “file of shame, cataloguing the empty pledges that put us firmly on track towards an unliveable world”.

The report’s seventeen chapters cover every aspect of the climate agenda in its 2,913 pages. During a virtual meeting spread over two weeks, government delegations from 195 countries reached a consensus on a Summary for Policy Makers. Inevitably, the style of the document is cautious, the language often technical. The report urges policy-makers and politicians to take on board a number of clear messages, some of which will be familiar to TIPC readers. What are they?

Urgency of the issue

Undoubtedly, the most important message is its urgency. The report is clear: a failure to peak and reduce emissions this decade will put the Paris goals to limit global rise in temperatures increasingly “out of reach”.  The next few years are critical. As the report’s co-chair Jim Skea said at the report’s launch, “It’s now or never, if we want to limit global warming to 1.5°C (2.7°F). Without immediate and deep emissions reductions across all sectors, it will be impossible.”

It’s against this benchmark that government policies and ministerial statements need to be judged. That’s why the successful implementation of the European Green Deal and, in particular, measures on home renovation and insulation are so important. In contrast, the UK government’s energy security White Paper lays huge emphasis on the benefits of new nuclear power stations that will not come on stream for another decade at the earliest. As the IPCC report warns, the longer the delays, the greater the danger of locking-in carbon-intensive infrastructure, and the harder to shift societies onto a low-carbon axis.

Renewable energies

Secondly, the report recognises the real progress that has been made on the renewable revolution. “Unit costs of several low-emission technologies have fallen continuously since 2010. The global average cost of solar energy, wind energy and lithium-ion batteries has decreased by 85%, 55% and 85%, respectively.”  Unit cost reductions in these key technologies have increased the economic attractiveness of low-emission energy sector transitions and, especially with the increased capacity for storage, the world should see a huge expansion in the period through to 2030. The German government plans for a fourfold increase in solar production to 200GW, and the UK intention to boost solar fivefold by 2035 are commitments in line with this IPCC scenario.

Overall the report says that integrating large amounts of “variable renewable energy” particularly wind and solar, presents “economic and technical challenges to electricity system management”. These challenges can be addressed by using batteries, hydrogen and other storage, as well as greater “demand-side responses” utilising flexible grids. Through these means the report judges that “electricity systems powered predominantly by renewables will be increasingly viable over the coming decades”.

On other renewables, the report is more cautious.  Nuclear power “continues to be affected by cost overruns, high upfront investment needs, challenges with final disposal of radioactive waste, and varying public acceptance and political support”. On hydrogen, currently heavily favoured by the European Commission and German industry, it notes that “as a general rule, it is more efficient to use electricity directly and avoid the progressively larger conversion losses from producing hydrogen.” Nevertheless, it points to its potential use in sectors that are hard to decarbonise, such as parts of heavy road transport and industry.

Changing Behaviour 

For the first time, the IPCC devotes a chapter to the “demand, services and social aspects of mitigation”. Demand-side climate measures reduce the use of high-emitting goods and services by targeting uptake of technologies and people’s consumption patterns. Examples include reducing domestic energy consumption, making it easier for people to use cleaner forms of transport, or eating more plant-based foods, thereby reducing meat consumption.

This is a welcome development as behavioural and cultural changes represent an arena that has been overlooked in official documents until now.  The report uses the avoid-shift-improve framework to explore options for demand-side measures. In the transport sector, for example, emissions could be avoided by eliminating unnecessary travel to work and/or working from home; remaining journeys could be shifted from a car to a bus or cycle; and the bus itself could be improved by replacing it with a non-fossil fuel model. The report is aware that “Individual behavioural change is insufficient for climate change mitigation unless embedded in structural and cultural change”.  Companies, institutions and public authorities have to change and promote wider transformative trends such as towards the sharing economy, the circular economy and digitalisation.

Perhaps, the report underplays the difficulties of achieving these types of shifts. The experience of the introduction of low traffic neighbourhoods (LTNs) in UK towns and cities during the pandemic has often aroused vocal resistance, frequently amplified in a populist fashion on social media. On food, claims by the Spanish government minister for consumer affairs that factory farming is damaging the environment and leading to the export of poor-quality meat provoked a furious backlash with senior government ministers rushing to defend the meat industry is just one example. The EU’s 9 point plan along with the International Energy Agency for citizens and companies to save energy and reduce reliance on Russian fossil fuel will be a wider test of how effective these changing behaviour proposals can be.

Cities

With the continuing swift urbanisation of the planet, the report has a particular focus on three types of city. Established cities, like most of those in Europe, will achieve the highest carbon savings by replacing or retrofitting building stock, “strategic infilling and densifying”, and electrifying urban energy systems that rely on cleaner sources. Rapidly expanding cities, meanwhile, can avoid higher future emissions by “leapfrogging to low-carbon technologies” and by better urban planning that “co-locates jobs and housing to achieve compact urban form”. For new and emerging cities the report calls for “compact, co-located and walkable urban areas with mixed land use and transit-oriented design”. In all three urban categories, careful spatial planning linked with dialogue and consultation with non-state actors and citizens is crucial if cities are to become resource efficient and shift onto a low-carbon axis.

Innovation Model.

It is also the first time that an IPCC report has included a chapter on innovation. It follows socio-technical transition thinking to outline the key stages of innovation from emergence and early adoption through to diffusion where niche developments become mainstream – as now with solar and wind.

Conclusion

This report covers a huge amount of ground not touched here– on decarbonising agriculture and land use, transport and industry. It shows that meeting the Paris climate change targets is still possible but only with a monumental societal effort. The approach is broad; recognising the need to transform all parts of the economy and society; and that it needs to be global. The report is not explicit on this but it’s clear that every nation across the world has to play its part. At a moment of global crisis, the Paris goals cannot be met if a major power, like Russia, becomes a pariah state frozen out of the international efforts on climate change. We are all in this together. The IPCC report shows the need for transformative action is urgent.

Perhaps inevitably in a document pored over by government officials from every nation, the final language is not explicit. However, the core messages are obvious:

  • climate change is a massive challenge that cannot be deferred;
  • to tackle it, the world needs to change track in this decade;
  • and this requires extensive government intervention, in partnership with business and civil society actors.

Those are key IPCC messages that policy-makers and politicians need to take on board before it is too late.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.