TIPC
搜索

实现绿色新政博客系列,2021 年 11 月:提供低碳供暖的难题

博客

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

使人们家中的供暖脱碳是气候过渡中最棘手的领域之一。欧盟委员会的 翻新浪潮策略 强调了需要采取的行动范围。在这里,伯明翰能源研究所所长 Martin Freer 教授讨论了英国政府和公民在实现这一转变过程中面临的选择和困难,以及许多其他欧洲国家都存在的困难。

 

介绍

COP26 的通过揭示了用大量温暖的话语实现净零是多么具有挑战性,但具体、有针对性和可衡量的行动却很难实现。艺术是创造投资、就业和经济增长的净零转型。也许更复杂的挑战是消费者和选民成为积极参与者的有管理的过渡。随着电网规模的煤炭转变为电网规模的风能和太阳能,电力的脱碳在一定程度上已经在幕后完成。只要电网没有变得不稳定,那么消费者就不会注意到变化。

然而,其他脱碳领域通过对既定做法的明显变化,更直接地影响了消费者。在某些情况下,例如电动汽车,尽管需要做出购买决定,但知道内燃机汽车的销售将被终止,电动汽车有一些荣誉,对于一些人来说,只是安装家庭充电点的轻微不便。在其他领域,变化更为复杂,在缺乏富有想象力的公共政策的情况下,似乎更具挑战性。一个重要的例子是家庭供暖。

脱碳加热

对于英国等具有不干涉主义政治理念的国家来说,供暖脱碳一直持续下去。英国在能源效率方面的住房存量相当糟糕,尽管有所改善。它有 2800 万户家庭,其中 1700 万户(60%)低于能源性能证书等级 C,从 AG 递减。供暖占所有二氧化碳排放量的三分之一,家庭 20%。英国几乎完全依赖带有冷凝锅炉的燃气中央供暖系统,这些系统通常不会安装,因此无法提供最佳性能。就家庭供暖的碳强度而言,这使英国在欧洲处于最低水平。

1:区域供热网络。

对于低碳或零碳加热解决方案,似乎有三个主要选择。在瑞典、丹麦和芬兰等国家,北欧的公民模式已经导致发达的区域供热系统通过输送热水或蒸汽的管道提供集中产生的热量。此类系统具有捕获废工业过程热量和废物焚化炉产生的热量的能力。这 来自哥本哈根废物处理厂的 Amager Bakke 能源 能够为 150,000 个家庭供暖是可能的艺术的一个例子。许多英国城市(以伯明翰为例)都有区域供暖系统,但这些主要限于与市政建筑的连通性。这凸显了区域供热系统的发展挑战;流行的英国模式需要一个大的锚定客户,否则不存在开发网络的商业案例。

区域供热的另一个紧迫挑战是,它们通常由燃烧天然气的热电联产发动机 (CHP) 提供动力。这意味着它们不是特别低碳,使它们成为零碳并非易事。此外,它们连接的废热源,例如垃圾焚烧炉,也并非没有碳排放,随着垃圾处理部门的多样化和发展,利用垃圾产生能量和热量的方式也将发生变化。至少需要从焚化炉中捕获碳。英国围绕分区进行的讨论可能是未来区域供热网络发展和克服对大型锚定客户的需求的前进方向。对消费者连接到区域供热系统的一定程度的强制或激励将汇总需求,从而提供可投资的主张。消费者的选择可能是一个牺牲品。

2:绿氢

英国也在考虑大规模的绿色氢气可以为热脱碳铺平道路。这将是一个简单的家庭干预,对燃气锅炉内的燃烧器进行修改,原则上燃气网络的许多更现代的部分都可以使用氢气。这种解决方案对政府很有吸引力,因为它是对现有网络的直接重新配置。在电网脱碳的同时,消费者的开关也很容易。主要问题是所需的绿色氢气量和生产成本。电解是目前绿色制氢的主要解决方案,一个电解槽的效率约为70%,即每单位电产生的热量少于等量单位的热能。电阻加热本质上是 100% 效率,因此仅从能源角度来看,使用直接进入电解槽的电力到家中的电加热器是有意义的。

3:热泵

第三种选择是使用电动热泵。热泵通过将热量从一个地方泵送到另一个地方来工作,例如从一个家的外面到里面。也许令人惊讶的是,它们甚至可以在非常低的温度下工作以从环境中提取余热,例如空气、水或地面。热泵的美妙之处在于它们的效率高达 300%,即一个单位的电能可以输送三个单位的热能。挪威是一个倡导安装热泵的国家,事实上,热泵在欧洲的最大渗透率是在斯堪的纳维亚国家。大多数安装在挪威的设备都是可逆的——它们既可以制冷也可以制热。它们也主要是空气对空气系统,不依赖“湿”散热器系统在家庭周围分配热量。可逆热泵是欧洲最常安装的热泵类型。另一方面,英国主要采用湿式供暖系统。换句话说,热量从房子周围的燃气锅炉通过热水管输送到散热器。这意味着最简单的改造是安装连接到热水系统的地源或空气源热泵。

脱碳热量的解决方案似乎很明显。安装热泵。那么为什么没有发生呢?英国的答案是它太难而且太贵了。热泵的成本是燃气锅炉成本的 5 倍以上,并且鉴于典型 (60%) 家庭安装的热效率较差,因此需要在提高热效率方面进行重大投资,以免房主陷入寒冷。这意味着对房屋的重大干预可能会持续数天,并且需要对建筑物的外观进行重大改变,无论是内部还是外部。通常,人们会在前一个坏掉的时候更换他们的锅炉,这是一种痛苦的购买,因此不会等待漫长的家庭能源效率改进来恢复他们的供暖和热水系统。

需要政府行动

成本和不便意味着这不会是由消费者主导的过渡,政府需要发挥积极作用。英国政府公布了 2021 年 10 月的供暖和建筑战略。 招待会充其量是不温不火的。燃气锅炉安装没有强制结束日期;没有与低碳取暖设备相关的效率升级配套;并且没有强制要求能源公司安装热泵配额。相反,在这个拥有 2800 万户家庭的国家,有足够的资金来支付 90,000 台热泵的安装费用,而且还提出了一项要求制造商生产低碳供暖设备的提议,但存在没有人会购买的危险。

北欧国家的成功指明了方向。基础设施投资是关键,确保电热泵的安装和运行成本与燃气相比具有竞争力至关重要。长期以来,天然气价格一直是改变的障碍,英国政府自身与电力脱碳相关的政策成本已被纳入电价。需要更强有力的干预,现在是做出一些艰难决定的时候了。

低碳转型的政治需要创造性的解决方案,将技术现实与消费者和公民的可行转型路径相结合。迎接这一挑战并摆脱旧习惯的政策参与者将引领未来十年的步伐。保持在合理轨道上以尽量减少全球变暖的愿望取决于它。


Martin Freer 教授是伯明翰能源研究所所长

该博客由 TIPC 和合作伙伴 EIT Climate-KIC 制作

本系列博客的编辑是建筑与城市学院名誉教授 Fred Steward, 威斯敏斯特大学, 伦敦;和 Jon Bloomfield,系统创新政策顾问,气候创新生态系统, 欧洲理工学院气候知识与创新社区 (EIT Climate-KIC).

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。

TIPC
Search

Making the Green New Deal Happen Blog Series, November 2021: The conundrums of delivering low-carbon heating

Blog

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Decarbonising the heating in people’s homes is one of the trickiest areas of the climate transition. The European Commission’s Renovation Wave strategy highlighted the range of actions needed. Here Professor Martin Freer, Director of the Birmingham Energy Institute, discusses the options and difficulties governments and citizens face in the UK in making this transition, difficulties that are present in many other European countries.

 

Introduction

The passing of COP26 reveals just how challenging it is going to be to get to net zero with plenty of warm words, but specific, targeted and measurable actions being hard to come by. The art is a net zero transition which creates investment, jobs and economic growth. Perhaps the even more complex challenge is a managed transition in which the consumer, and voter, becomes an active participant. The decarbonisation of electricity to some extent has been done behind the scenes, as grid scale coal is transformed to grid scale wind and solar. As long as the grid does not become unstable, then the consumer does not notice a change.

However, other arenas of decarbonisation intrude more directly on the consumer through visible changes to established practices.  In some cases, such as the electric car, despite requiring a point of purchase decision, it is facilitated by the knowledge that sale of internal combustion engine vehicles is to be ended, that there is some kudos associated with electric vehicles and, for some, only the minor inconvenience of installing a home charging point.  In other areas the changes are more complex and in the absence of imaginative public policy appear far more challenging.  A significant illustration of this is domestic heating.

Decarbonising Heating

For countries with a non-interventionist political philosophy, such as the UK, decarbonisation of heating has been left to last. The UK has a fairly miserable housing stock in terms of energy efficiency, though improving. It has 28 million homes with 17 million (60%) below Energy Performance Certificate rating C, on a descending scale from A-G. Heating accounts for one third of all CO2 emissions, homes 20%. The UK relies almost exclusively on gas powered central heating systems with condensing boilers which, often as not, are installed such that they do not deliver optimal performance. This places the UK near the bottom of the pile in Europe in terms of the carbon intensity of domestic heating.

1: District heating networks.

There seem to be three main choices when it comes to low, or zero, carbon heating solutions. The Nordic civic model, in countries such as Sweden, Denmark and Finland has led to well-developed district heating systems which supply centrally generated heat through pipes delivering hot water or steam. Such systems have the ability to capture waste industrial process heat and heat generated from waste incinerators. The Amager Bakke energy from waste plant in Copenhagen able to heat 150,000 homes is an example of the art of the possible. Many UK cities, Birmingham being an exemplar, have district heating systems but these are mainly limited in connectivity to municipal buildings. This highlights the development challenge for district heating systems; the prevailing UK model needs a large anchor customer, otherwise the business case to develop the network does not exist.

The other pressing challenge with district heating is that it is often they powered by combined heat and power engines (CHP) which burn natural gas. This means they are not particularly low-carbon and making them zero carbon is not trivial. Moreover, the waste heat sources they connect to, e.g. waste incinerators, are not free from carbon emissions either and as the waste processing sector diversifies and develops, the way in which waste is used to produce energy and heat will evolve. At the very least carbon capture from incinerators will be required. The UK discussion around zoning may be the way ahead for the development of future district heating networks and overcoming the need for a large anchor customer. A level of mandation or incentivisation for consumers to connect to a district heating system will aggregate demand delivering an investable proposition. Consumer choice may be a casualty.

2: Green hydrogen

The UK is also toying with the idea that large scale, green hydrogen could pave the wave for heat decarbonisation. This would be a simple household intervention with a modification to the burner within the gas boiler and in principle much of the more modern parts of the gas network are hydrogen ready. This solution is attractive to government as it is a straightforward reconfiguration of an existing network.  And in a parallel to the decarbonisation of the electricity grid the switch for the consumer is easy. The main issue is the volume of green hydrogen required and the cost of producing it. Electrolysis is the main solution at present for green hydrogen production, and the efficiency of an electrolyser is about 70%, meaning that every unit of electricity produces less than the equivalent unit of heat energy. Electric resistance heating is essentially 100% efficient and so in energy terms alone it would make sense to use the electricity that would go to an electrolyser directly to an electric heater in the home.

3: Heat Pumps

A third option is the use of electricity powered heat pumps. Heat pumps work by pumping heat from one place to another, e.g. from the outside of a home to inside. Perhaps surprisingly, they can even work at very low temperatures to extract residual heat from the environment, e.g. the air, water or ground. The beauty of a heat pump is that they can have efficiencies of up to 300%, i.e. one unit of electrical energy can deliver three units of heat energy. Norway is a country that has championed the installation of heat pumps and indeed the greatest penetration of heat pumps in Europe is in Scandinavian countries. The majority of those installed in Norway are reversible – they can do cooling as well as heating.  They are also primarily air to air systems and do not rely on a ‘wet’ radiator system to distribute heat around the home.  Reversible heat pumps are the most commonly installed type of heat pump in Europe. The UK, on the other hand, has mainly wet heating systems. In other words, the heat is transported from the gas boiler around the house to radiators via hot water pipes. This means the that the most simple transformation is the installation of a ground source or air source heat pump connected to the hot water system.

The solution to decarbonising heat then seems pretty obvious; install heat pumps. So why isn’t it happening? The answer in the UK is it is just too hard and too expensive. Heat pumps cost over 5 times the cost of a gas boiler and given the poor thermal efficiency of typical (60%) homes installation needs to be accompanied by major investment in thermal efficiency improvements in order not to leave the homeowner in the cold. This means major interventions into the home which could last several days and require significant changes to the appearance of the building, inside and out. Typically, people replace their boiler at the point of the previous one breaking, a distress purchase, and hence will not wait for lengthy home energy efficiency improvements for their heating and hot water system to be restored.

Need for Government Action

The cost and inconvenience means that this is not going to be a consumer led transition and that there is a need for government to take a proactive role. The UK government released its Heat and Building strategy in October 2021. The reception was tepid at best. There is no mandatory end date for gas boiler installation; there is no complementary package of efficiency upgrades linked to low-carbon heating appliance; and there is no mandate on energy companies to install a quota of heat pumps. There is instead enough funding to pay for 90,000 heat pump installations in a country of 28 million homes and a proposed requirement that manufacturers produce low-carbon heating appliances, which there is a danger no one will buy.

The success of countries in the North of Europe points the way. Investment in infrastructure is key and ensuring that the costs of electric heat pump installation and running costs are competitive with gas is crucial. The price of gas has for a long time been a barrier to change and the addition of the UK government’s own policy costs associated with decarbonisation of electricity have been put on the price of electricity. Stronger intervention is required and the time for some hard decisions is now.

The politics of the low carbon transition needs creative solutions which combine technical realities with feasible transition pathways for consumers and citizens.  The policy players who rise to this challenge and escape from old habits will set the pace in the decade ahead. The aspiration to keep on a plausible track to minimise global warming depends on it.


Professor Martin Freer is Director of the Birmingham Energy Institute

This blog is produced by TIPC and partner, EIT Climate-KIC

The editors of this blog series are Fred Steward, Emeritus Professor, School of Architecture and Cities, University of Westminster, London; and Jon Bloomfield, Systems Innovation Policy Advisor, Climate Innovation Ecosystems, the European Institute of Technology’s Climate Knowledge & Innovation Community (EIT Climate-KIC).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *