TIPC

变革性变革项目的监测、评估和学习:MOTION 与 SUSMO、SATURN 和 ACT ON NBS 合作的经验教训

Thinking & Analysis

2021 年 12 月,TIPC 和 EIT Climate-KIC 合作的 MOTION 项目结束了。在与三个 EIT Climate-KIC 项目的合作伙伴密切合作的两年中—— 在 NBS 上采取行动, 土星苏莫 – MOTION 支持能力建设和监测、评估和学习 (MEL) 活动,以增强其变革潜力。第一年包括开发一个“变革的变革理论”对于每个项目(图 1、2 和 3)。借助 TIPC 基于模块的方法,合作伙伴参与了多次引导式互动,将每个项目的输入、核心活动和输出与“变革性成果”,有助于发挥他们预期的影响力。变革的变革理论明确了每个项目的逻辑和预期的变革过程,促进与合作伙伴就如何改进它进行反思,揭示瓶颈、背景依赖性和变革潜力。

SuSMo ToC

图 1:SuSMo 的变革变革理论:以利益相关者参与为中心的四种变革途径 

SATURN ToC

图 2:SATURN 变革变革理论

ACT on NBS ToC

图 3:ACT on NBS Transformative Theory of Change

在 MOTION 的第二年,我们根据变革的变革理论 (ToC) 为三个项目中的每一个制定了监测、评估和学习 (MEL) 计划。第一步包括与合作伙伴讨论他们的 MEL 期望是什么——例如,更多地了解他们的 ToC 中的特定变化路径或监控给定的转型结果——并共同确定哪些指标可用于此目的。在 SuSMo 中,合作伙伴选择专注于三个途径: 利益相关者参与 (SE), 影响评估数据 (死),和 政策、法规和采购 (PRP) 并使用与四个转型成果相关的指标,即 联网 (监测 SE 通路), 循环 知识和工具, 学习/忘却期望的变化 (这三个都用于监控 DIE 和 PRP)。在 SATURN 中,合作伙伴选择关注两个转型成果,即 循环升级.这些是根据之前确定的(借助变革性 ToC)SATURN 项目的优势以及合作伙伴认为需要进一步改进的领域来选择的。在 ACT on NBS 中,合作伙伴选择了三对变革性成果(或“变革性成果途径”):(1) 联网学习; (2) 循环复制;和 (3) 升级制度化

为了促进 SuSMo 潜在指标的讨论和识别,MOTION 团队准备了一个方案(图 4),该方案说明了如何监控利益相关者参与网络以及通过其他两个途径(DIE 和 PRP)开发的工具与变革性成果。

图 4:为选定的 SuSMo 路径确定指标的概念方案:利益相关者参与(网络),以及影响评估和政策、法规和采购的数据(改变实践)

在确定和选择要监测的变革维度时,重要的是要在它们实现影响的相关性和通过指标监测它们的可行性之间取得平衡。这些特征往往相互矛盾。事实上,当被问及哪些维度更相关以及哪些更容易监控时,SuSMo 合作伙伴确定了这种权衡(图 5)。

图 5:与 SuSMo 选定路径相关的变化维度的影响相关性和监测可行性之间的权衡

鉴于这一困难,MOTION 团队提议将与所选途径和变革性成果相关的学习评估建立在一项调查的基础上,该调查将由 SuSMo 和 SATURN 合作伙伴回答。如果设计得当,调查有助于 变革项目或计划所需的形成性监测、评估和学习方法.与通常寻求在给定时间点表征系统状态的传统调查相反(例如,想想用于描述社区或城市的定期社会经济调查,并且通常旨在提供定量指标) ,在形成过程的背景下使用的调查旨在引发受访者的反思和学习。这种类型的调查是双向的:它在受访者/参与者和调查接受者之间建立了对话。因此,在形成性 MEL 过程中,调查是收集信息或知识的工具,它构成了反思、学习和适应的基础。相比之下,对于 NBS 上的 ACT,开发了一种替代方法,包括汇总通过一系列访谈收集的定性数据/信息,使参与者能够更深入地了解最相关的概念和知识。 

就调查而言,其设计(或“协议”,用技术术语来说)包括对三种途径 (SuSMo) 和变革性结果(SuSMo 和 SATURN)的陈述的陈述,这些陈述是实现预期目标的关键影响。通过从“非常不同意”到“非常同意”(图 6-9 中的示例)的范围评估陈述后,受访者会被提示证明他们的选择是正确的。这是引发反思和学习的关键机制。进行调查是 MEL 过程中的一个中间步骤。更重要的是将综合结果反馈给受访者的过程。对于 SuSMo,这是通过 MOTION 团队推动的研讨会完成的,对于 SATURN,调查结果是在在线视频中合成的(图 10-11)。

 

图 6-9:SuSMo 在在线研讨会上反馈给受访者的 MEL 调查结果示例

图 10-11: :在分发给受访者的在线视频中合成的 SATURN 调查结果示例

最后,MOTION 团队与 SuSMo 和 SATURN 举行了最后的 MEL 流程研讨会,并与 ACT 就 NBS 合作伙伴进行了两轮最终访谈。组织这些活动的目的是为项目合作伙伴提供一个反思空间,以进一步反思整个实施过程、取得的经验教训,并讨论项目生命周期之后的雄心壮志。在 SuSMo 研讨会上,合作伙伴讨论了传播他们开发的工具的计划——例如,共享移动评估和政策、采购和评估的指南。目的是通过 SuSMo 合作伙伴之间的谅解备忘录正式确定该计划,这将包括进一步测试和改进工具。合作伙伴在研讨会上讨论的实现永久影响的一个障碍是共享移动领域正在迅速且不断变化,因此指南可能在经过全面测试之前就已经过时了。因此,一个教训是,必须进行持续的监控和评估,并成为从工具开发到部署过程中的固定要素。监测和评估方法必须灵活,具体取决于该工具是更实用(如评估共享出行可持续性的工具)还是更理论化(如定义共享出行 PRP 原则的情况)。研讨会期间揭示的第二个教训是,未来的参与不应关注过去的成就,而应关注更新和改进工具的趋势预期。为此,合作伙伴讨论了两个目标:(a) 为通过 SuSMo 收集和创建的数据和材料建立“集体记忆”存储库,这是 (b) 形成共享移动性观察站的基础。关于共享移动网络的建立,SuSMo 能够将城市层面的不同利益相关者聚集在一起,但未来的挑战将是保持利益相关者的利益——例如,通过展示基于 SuSMo 的共享移动成功案例工具——保持网络的凝聚力。

在土星研讨会上,改进的要素 循环 围绕 (a) 知识和经验的收集和综合; (b) 外部知识和经验的可及性; (c) 合作伙伴之间以及与利益攸关方之间的知识和经验共享。在这些方面,项目内需要更多的人力资源和能力被强调为改进它们的关键。此外,更有效地使用目标传播和交流活动,例如使用社交媒体来吸引注意力和兴趣,被认为对于改进未来选定的变革性成果很重要。改进的要素 升级 围绕:(a) 外部行为者的参与; (b) 外部利益相关者对项目结果的估价和 (c) 项目结果的吸收。改进这些要素的重要方面是挑战所有者(例如市政当局)从项目开始就积极参与,以共同开发产出和结果。更多的资源和对利益相关者参与活动的战略重点,这将有助于与 SATURN 建立持久的关系,从而增加对项目产出和结果的兴趣和需求,这是改进转型成果的另一个方面 升级 在未来的项目中。

在 NBS 访谈的最后 ACT 期间,合作伙伴反映了为 MEL 阶段提议的结果的实现程度,这些结果是由于基于变革的变革理论具有更高的变革潜力而被选中的。结果显示四项监测成果取得了良好的成就,但也突出了短期内的实施挑战。例如,在“为更好地采用基于自然的解决方案 (NBS) 的能力建设和技术援助”方面(网络和学习途径), ACT on NBS 取得了良好的效果,但面临两大挑战:(1)虽然合作伙伴获得了对制定未来业务计划有用的经验,但难以为城市能力建设活动的共同资助投入资源; (2) 需要更长的项目(比 NBS 上的 ACT)与城市持续互动,以增加参与城市的数量并建立持久的能力,特别是对于经验较少的城市,这可能需要经验丰富的城市的知识转移和支持.对于与“升级和制度化途径'.为实现制度化(例如,激励可融资的基于自然的解决方案项目的政策),需要一个实施基于自然的解决方案的更加综合的城市网络,具有更高的能力和从更先进的城市向欠先进的城市转移的专业知识。 MOTION 项目结果还表明,在 2021 年 NBS ACT 的最后阶段,在整个交互过程的背景下,变革的变革理论构成了一个非常实用的工具,正如(匿名)受访者所表达的:

“与 MOTION 的合作就像一次救援 [...] 不仅通过变革变革理论的能力来追溯我们与市政当局的工作,而且还通过变革变革知识转移的系统化。”

“对于磨练和转化我们关于创新生态系统应该做什么的初步想法非常有用,更有针对性,你必须围绕变革性成果阐明目标。”

“由于与 MOTION 项目的合作,我们 [ACT on NBS 合作伙伴] 正在讨论是否以及如何通过未来的伙伴关系继续合作。”

在整个 MOTION 交互过程中收集的信息将为联合生产 NBS 上 ACT 的增强变革变革理论提供信息,该理论可用于为未来的计划提供更高的变革能力,以扩大基于城市自然的解决方案。   

最终,MOTION 与 SuSMo、SATURN 和 ACT 在 NBS 上的互动促成了成功的合作伙伴关系。 MOTION 试点并进一步开发了 TIPC 方法,结合并应用了变革性成果概念框架。相反,这种伙伴关系导致 MOTION 对 SuSMo、SATURN 和 ACT on NBS 的两个关键贡献:(a) 在变革的变革理论中将每个项目的特定过程(活动、成果、产出和影响)系统化,这使得项目合作伙伴能够了解他们如何融入他们寻求转型的系统并为之做出贡献,以及 (b) 基于这个变革性的 ToC,合作伙伴能够就如何传播项目的产出/结果得出见解和二阶学习课程,以及如何处理未来(类似)项目以提高其转型潜力。

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

TIPC
Search

MONITORING, EVALUATION AND LEARNING FOR TRANSFORMATIVE CHANGE PROJECTS: LESSONS FROM MOTION’S COLLABORATION WITH SUSMO, SATURN AND ACT ON NBS

Blog

In December 2021, the MOTION project, a collaboration of TIPC and EIT Climate-KIC, came to an end. During its two years of working closely with partners from three EIT Climate-KIC projects – ACT on NBS, SATURN and SuSMo – MOTION supported capacity building and monitoring, evaluation and learning (MEL) activities to enhance their transformative potential. The first year consisted of developing a “Transformative Theory of Change” for each project (Figures 1, 2 and 3). Drawing on TIPC’s module-based methodology, partners engaged in several guided interactions to connect each project’s inputs, core activities and outputs with “transformative outcomes” that help leverage their desired impacts. The Transformative Theories of Change made explicit the logic and anticipated change process of each project, facilitating reflections with partners about how to improve it, unveiling bottlenecks, contextual dependencies and transformative potentials.

SuSMo ToC

Figure 1: SuSMo’s  Transformative Theory of Change: four change pathways centred around stakeholder engagement 

SATURN ToC

Figure 2: SATURN Transformative Theory of Change

ACT on NBS ToC

Figure 3: ACT on NBS Transformative Theory of Change

In MOTION’s second year, we developed a monitoring, evaluation and learning (MEL) plan for each of the three projects, based on their Transformative Theory of Change (ToC). The first step consisted of discussing with partners what their MEL expectations were – for instance, learning more about a specific change-pathway within their ToC or monitoring a given Transformative Outcome – and collectively identifying which indicators could be used to that end. In SuSMo, partners chose to focus on three pathways: Stakeholder Engagement (SE), Data for Impact Evaluation (DIE), and Policy, Regulation and Procurement (PRP) and to use indicators associated to four Transformative Outcomes, namely networking (to monitor the SE pathway), circulation of knowledge and tools, learning/unlearning and changes in expectations (all three to monitor DIE and PRP). In SATURN, the partners chose to focus on two Transformation Outcomes, namely, circulation and upscaling. These were chosen based on the previously identified (with the aid of the transformative ToC) strengths of the SATURN project, as well as the areas in which partners saw a need for further improvements.  In ACT on NBS, the partners opted for three pairs of Transformative Outcomes (or “Transformative Outcome pathways”): (1) networking and learning; (2) circulation and replication; and (3) upscaling and institutionalisation

To facilitate the discussion and identification of potential indicators for SuSMo, the MOTION team prepared a scheme (Figure 4) that illustrated how the stakeholder engagement network could be monitored and the tools being developed through the other two pathways (DIE and PRP) were associated to the Transformative Outcomes.

Figure 4: Conceptual scheme to identify indicators for the selected SuSMo pathways: Stakeholder Engagement (network), and Data for Impact Evaluation and Policy, Regulation and Procurement (changing practices)

When identifying and selecting transformative change dimensions to monitor, it is important to aim for a balance between their relevance for achieving impact and feasibility of monitoring them through indicators. These characteristics often are at odds with each other. Indeed, SuSMo partners identified this trade-off, when asked which dimensions were more relevant and which were easier to monitor (Figure 5).

Figure 5: The trade-off between impact relevance and monitoring feasibility of change dimensions associated with SuSMo’s selected pathways

Given this difficulty, the MOTION team proposed to base the evaluation of learnings related to the selected pathways and Transformative Outcomes on a survey, which was to be answered by the SuSMo and SATURN partners. When designed appropriately, surveys contribute to the formative monitoring, evaluation and learning approach that transformative change projects or programmes require. In contrast to traditional surveys that often seek to characterise the status of a system at a given point in time (think, for example, of periodic socio-economic surveys used to depict a neighbourhood or city, and which often aim to deliver quantitative indicators), surveys used in the context of a formative process seek to trigger reflection and learning among respondents. This type of survey is bidirectional: it creates a dialogue between the respondent/participant and the survey taker. In a formative MEL process, surveys are therefore a tool for information or knowledge gathering, which forms the basis for reflection, learning and adaptation. In contrast, for ACT on NBS, an alternative approach was developed, consisting of the aggregation of qualitative data/information collected through set of interviews, allowing participants to dive deeper into the most relevant concepts and learnings. 

In the case of the survey, its design (or “protocol”, in the technical jargon) consisted of  the presentation of several statements about the three pathways (SuSMo) and the Transformative Outcomes (SuSMo & SATURN) that were key to achieving their desired impacts. After evaluating the statements through a scale ranging from “strongly disagree” to “strongly agree” (examples in Figures 6-9), respondents were prompted to justify their choices. This was the key mechanism for inducing reflection and learning. Taking the survey yet was an intermediary step in the MEL process. More important was the process of feeding back the synthesized results to respondents. For SuSMo, this was done through a workshop facilitated by the MOTION team, and in the case of SATURN, survey results were synthesized in an online video (Figures 10-11).

 

Figure 6-9: Examples of SuSMo’s MEL survey results which were fed back to respondents in an online workshop

Figure 10-11: : Examples of SATURN’s survey results which were synthesized in an online video distributed to respondents

Finally, the MOTION team held a concluding MEL-process workshop with SuSMo and SATURN and two rounds of final interviews with ACT on NBS partners. These activities were organized to provide project partners with  a reflexive space for further reflections on the overall implementation process, achieved learnings, and to discuss ambitions beyond the project’s lifespan. At the SuSMo workshop, partners discussed plans for disseminating tools they’ve developed – for instance, guidelines for shared mobility evaluation and policy, procurement and evaluation.. The intention was to formalize this plan through a Memorandum of Understanding between SuSMo partners, which would include further testing and improvement of the tools. One barrier to achieving permanent impact that was discussed by the partners in the workshop was that the field of shared mobility was rapidly and constantly changing, so that the guidelines could become obsolete before being fully tested. Therefore, one lesson was that continuous monitoring and evaluation had to take place and become a fixed element in the process,  , from tool development to deployment. The approach for monitoring and evaluation had to be flexible, depending on whether the tool was more practical (as the one for evaluating the sustainability of shared mobility) or more theoretical (as in the case of defining the principles for PRP of shared mobility). A second lesson unveiled during the workshop was that future engagements should not focus on past achievements but on the anticipation of trends to update and improve the tools. To this end, two goals were discussed by partners: (a) the establishment of a “collective memory” repository for the data and materials collected and created through SuSMo, which was to (b) form the basis for a shared mobility observatory. Regarding the establishment of a shared mobility network, SuSMo was able to bring together diverse stakeholder at the city level, but a challenge for the future would be to maintain the interest of stakeholders – for instance, by showcasing shared mobility success stories based on the SuSMo tools –to keep the network cohesive.

At the SATURN workshop, the elements for improvement on circulation gravitated around (a) knowledge and experience collection and synthesis; (b) external knowledge and experience accessibility; and (c) knowledge and experience sharing among partners and with stakeholders. Across these aspects, the need for more human resources and capacity within the project was highlighted as key for improving on them. Furthermore, more effective use of target dissemination and communication activities such as the use of social media for attracting attention and interest was considered important for improving on the selected Transformative Outcomes in the future.  The elements for improving on upscaling centred around: (a) engagement of external actors; (b) valorisation of project results by external stakeholders and (c) the uptake of project results. Important aspects for improving across these elements were the active engagement of challenge owners (e.g. municipalities) from the beginning of the project with a view on co-developing outputs and results. More resources and strategic emphasis on  stakeholder engagement activities, which would help to develop lasting relationships with SATURN and thereby increase the interest and demand for project outputs and results, was yet another aspect for improving on the Transformative Outcome upscaling in future projects.

During the concluding ACT on NBS interviews, partners reflected about the  extent to which the outcomes proposed for the MEL phase, chosen due to their higher transformative potential based on the Transformative Theory of Change, were achieved. Results showed a good level of achievement of the four monitored outcomes, but also highlighted implementation challenges in the short term. For example, in terms of ‘capacity building and technical assistance for greater uptake of Nature Based Solutions (NBS) (Networking and Learning Pathway), ACT on NBS achieved good results, but faced two major challenges: (1) although partners gained experience that was useful to develop future business plans, it was difficult to commit resources for the co-funding of capacity building events in cities; (2) longer projects (than ACT on NBS) in continuous interaction with cities are required to increase the number of participating cities and to build lasting capacities, especially with less-experienced cities, which might require knowledge transfer and support from the more experienced ones. The same was also expressed for outcomes related to the ‘Upscaling and Institutionalisation Pathway’. To achieve institutionalisation (e.g., policies incentivising bankable Nature Based Solutions projects) a more integrated network of cities implementing Nature-Based Solutions is required, with higher capacities and know-how transferred from more advanced to less advanced cities. MOTION project results also showed that the Transformative Theory of Change constituted a very practical tool during the last stages of ACT on NBS in 2021, in the context of the whole interactive process, as expressed by (anonymous) interviewees:

“The collaboration with MOTION has been like a rescue […] not only through the ability of the Transformative Theory of Change to trace back our work with municipalities, but also through the systematisation of knowledge transfer on transformative change.”

“Very useful for honing and translating our initial ideas about what an innovation ecosystem should be doing, a bit more targeted with goals and objectives that you have to articulate around the Transformative Outcomes.”

“Thanks to the collaboration with MOTION project we [ACT on NBS partners] are in discussions on whether and how to continue collaborating together through a future partnership.”

The information gathered throughout the whole MOTION interaction will inform the co-production of an enhanced Transformative Theory of Change for ACT on NBS, that can be used to provide future initiatives with higher transformative capabilities for scaling-up urban Nature Based Solutions.   

At the end of the day, MOTION’s interactions with SuSMo, SATURN and ACT on NBS resulted in a successful partnership. MOTION piloted and further developed the TIPC methodology, incorporating and applying the Transformative Outcomes conceptual framework. Conversely, the partnership lead to two key contributions from MOTION to SuSMo, SATURN and ACT on NBS: (a) the systematization of each project’s specific process (activities, outcomes, outputs and impact) in a Transformative Theory of Change, which allowed project partners to see how they fit in and contribute to the system they seek to transform, and (b) based on this Transformative ToC, partners were able to draw insights and second-order learning lessons on how to disseminate the outputs/outcomes from the projects and how to approach future (similar) projects so as to improve their transformation potential.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.