TIPC

Présentez votre transformation : Formation de la science à la politique : Accroître l'impact des politiques pour la transformation

Session
Évènement passé
17 janvier 2022 15h15 (GMT)
à
17 janvier 2022 16h15 (GMT)

 

 

Cette session se déroule avec : MOTION Handbook : Tools for Transformative System Change ; et Un modèle pour la transformation des environnements d'apprentissage des écoles publiques de la ville de Bogotá pour la science, la technologie et l'innovation.

Chaque projet aura 10 minutes de pitch avec 30 minutes de Q&A. 

Bien que l'importance de la science pour l'élaboration des politiques soit souvent soulignée, les chercheurs en début de carrière, en particulier, manquent souvent de compréhension du processus politique du monde réel, du rôle de la science dans l'élaboration des politiques et des compétences nécessaires pour dialoguer avec les décideurs. Sans de telles capacités, des idées et des recherches potentiellement transformatrices risquent de passer entre les mailles du filet sans avoir d'impact.

Dans ce contexte, la formation de la science à la politique est une intervention de renforcement des capacités qui vise à améliorer les compétences et l'expertise des chercheurs en début de carrière pour s'engager de manière significative dans la politique d'innovation et la façonner. En tant que tel, il vise à accroître le potentiel de transformation de la production des chercheurs en début de carrière en améliorant et en communiquant la pertinence de leurs recherches et ainsi influer sur les processus politiques du monde réel. En fournissant aux chercheurs juniors une compréhension fondamentale des processus politiques et du rôle de la science du point de vue des praticiens, nous visons à les aider à définir et à renforcer leur rôle et leur contribution aux processus politiques d'innovation transformatrice.

Réf : #16 (Fonctionne avec 15, 44)

Conceptualisation de l'innovation pour un changement transformateur
Renforcement des capacités

Haut-parleurs

Christoph Brodnik
Development and support of the TIP Knowledge Community and Resource Lab
Consortium pour une politique d'innovation transformatrice
Christoph Brodnik (MSc, MBA, PhD, male), is an independent consultant and researcher based in Melbourne, Australia. Christoph has an environmental science and natural resource management background and has recently worked on mission-oriented research and innovation policy and programs with a focus on portfolios and systems-change. Christoph also works with policy makers and practitioners conducting policy analysis and strategy development for transformation-oriented initiatives.
Lasse Bundgaard
Lasse Bundgaard a effectué son doctorat au département d'organisation de la Copenhagen Business School. Son doctorat a été supervisé par le professeur Susana Borrás et a étudié le développement de solutions Smart City. Explorer spécifiquement les résultats des partenariats d'innovation public-privé impliqués dans le développement de solutions urbaines aux défis posés par le changement climatique et l'urbanisation accrue. Actuellement, Lasse est chercheur post-doctoral à l'Université Gustave Eiffel à Paris, où il étudie la politique d'innovation transformatrice au niveau de la ville dans le cadre d'un projet rattaché au LISIS (Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire Sciences Innovations Sociétés). Le projet étudie l'émergence des politiques d'innovation transformatrices au niveau de la ville, en développant un nouveau cadre pour analyser les processus politiques locaux qui sous-tendent les efforts des villes pour devenir écologiquement, socialement et économiquement durables.
Michael J. Bernstein
Michael J. Bernstein est scientifique à l'Institut autrichien de technologie de l'AIT et professeur adjoint de recherche à l'Arizona State University. Il applique des méthodes de recherche descriptives et participatives en sciences sociales pour aligner la recherche et l'innovation sur les intérêts sociétaux à long terme, comme la durabilité. Michael se concentre actuellement sur l'évaluation éthique des technologies nouvelles et émergentes pour le projet TechEthos financé par la CE. En outre, il développe des outils de prospective et de planification stratégique pour soutenir l'innovation des entreprises à valeur sociale (The Global KAITEKI Center, Arizona State University). De 2017 à 2019, il a été chef de file d'un projet financé par la CE pour évaluer et faire progresser la recherche et l'innovation responsables dans le cadre du financement européen de la R&I (NewHoRRIzon). Il a soutenu la durabilité urbaine transdisciplinaire (GLOCULL); chargé d'une évaluation participative de la technologie (pTA) pour éclairer la prise de décision du département américain de l'énergie sur l'emplacement des déchets nucléaires (ECAST); et évalué les programmes d'enseignement STEM (SOtL) en matière de politique scientifique. Michael a l'expérience de la collaboration avec des éducateurs formels et informels en sciences et en ingénierie, des chercheurs, des décideurs, des entreprises et des organisations de la société civile aux niveaux local, national et international. Il a contribué à des initiatives politiques et d'évaluation sur la préparation, la résilience et l'adaptation au changement climatique pour le US White House Council on Environmental Quality et les National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.

TIPC
Search

Pitch you Transformation: Science to Policy Training: Increasing Policy Impact for Transformation

Session
17 January 2022 15:15 (GMT)
to
17 January 2022 16:15 (GMT)

This session runs with: MOTION Handbook: Tools for Transformative System Change; and A model for the transformation of the learning environments of the public schools of the city of Bogotá for science, technology and innovation.

Each project will have 10 minutes pitch with 30 minutes of Q&A. 

While the importance of science for policy making is often highlighted, particularly early-career researchers often lack an understanding of the real world policy process, the role of science in policy making and the skills needed to engage with policy makers. Without such capabilities, potentially transformative ideas and research risk slipping through the cracks without making an impact.

Against this background, science to policy training is a capacity-building intervention that aims at improving early career researcher’s skills and expertise to meaningfully engage with and shape innovation policy. As such, it aims to increase the transformative potential of early-career researchers’ output by improving and communicating the relevance of their research and thus impact real-world policy processes. By providing junior scholars with a fundamental understanding of policy processes and the role of science from a practitioners point-of-view, we aim to help them define and strengthen their role and contribution to transformative innovation policy processes.

Ref: #16 (Runs with 15, 44)

Conceptualisation of innovation for transformative change
Capacity building

Speakers

Christoph Brodnik
Expert Advisor at AIT Austrian Institute of Technology
Christoph Brodnik (MSc, PhD, male), is working at the AIT – Austrian Institute of Technology since 2019 in the field of innovation policy and transformation. Christoph has an environmental science and management background. He holds an MSc from the University of Auckland (New Zealand) and a PhD from Monash University (Australia). Sustainability innovation in different sectors were at the heart of his private sector and academic career. Particularly in his PhD research he investigated the strategic management of innovative urban water management practices. The objective was to deliver best practice policy and robust decision-making advice that supports the emergence, growth and establishment of innovation in public services sectors.
Lasse Bundgaard
Lasse Bundgaard has carried out his PhD at the Department of Organization, Copenhagen Business School. His PhD was supervised by professor Susana Borrás and investigated the development of Smart City solutions. Specifically exploring the outcomes of Public-Private Innovation Partnerships involved in developing urban solutions to the challenges posed by climate change and increased urbanization. Currently, Lasse is a post-doctoral researcher at Université Gustave Eiffel in Paris, where he studies Transformative Innovation Policy at city-level as part of a project attached to LISIS (Labotoire Interdisciplinaire Sciences Innovations Sociétés). The project studies the emergence of Transformative Innovation Policies at the city level, developing a novel framework to analyze local policy processes that underpin cities’ efforts to become environmentally, socially and economically sustainable.
Michael J. Bernstein
Michael J. Bernstein is a scientist at the AIT Austrian Institute of Technology and Assistant Research Professor at Arizona State University. He applies descriptive and participatory social science research methods to align research and innovation with long-term societal interests, like sustainability. Michael currently focuses on ethical assessment of new and emerging technologies for the EC-funded TechEthos project. In addition, he is developing foresight and strategic planning tools to support business innovation for social value (The Global KAITEKI Center, Arizona State University). From 2017-2019 he served as a work-package leader of an EC-funded project to assess and advance responsible research and innovation across European R&I funding (NewHoRRIzon). He has supported transdisciplinary urban sustainability (GLOCULL); staffed a participatory Technology Assessment (pTA) to inform U.S. Department of Energy decision-making about siting nuclear waste (ECAST); and evaluated science policy STEM education programs (SOtL). Michael has experience collaborating with formal and informal science and engineering educators, researchers, policy makers, businesses, and civil society organizations at local, national, and international levels. He has contributed to policy and evaluation initiatives on climate preparedness, resilience, and adaptation for the U.S. White House Council on Environmental Quality and the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.