在挪威研究和创新政策中使用未来素养

博客

研究和创新政策针对社会挑战的重新定位导致在政策制定中需要具备未来素养。挪威研究委员会、斯塔万格大学、北欧创新、研究和教育研究所和 Fremtenkt 公司正在试验新型的预期实践和领导力。 

重新定位以应对社会挑战

世界范围内的研究和创新政策发展发生了重大的重新定位。政治家和政策制定者越来越多地根据“外部”的需要做出决策,而不是将科学和工业创新视为增长引擎,只要有足够的资金,它们就可以自己创造财富和繁荣。

对环境和社会挑战的强烈关注——以联合国的可持续发展目标为例——促成了这种重新定位。
困在过去

然而,包括挪威在内的世界各地的政策制定者都在努力寻找通过适当的措施和工具来满足这种重新定位的方法。问题不在于他们不熟悉有针对性和战略导向的研究和创新资助。挪威政策制定者在支持此类计划和工具方面有着悠久的传统,但措施往往基于对创新过程的线性理解:公共资金投入相关研究和创新机构,人们希望创新能够实现!

许多有关此类资金的重大决定都留给了科学家或工业家。毕竟,他们中的许多人都是相关专家委员会、董事会和决策机构的活跃成员。

整体的意识形态框架是市场最了解,或者如果让科学家自己决定/自己决定,就会产生最好的结果。

这种“基金和遗忘”制度的根本问题在于,它没有为公开审议创新可能产生的负面影响创造条件。由于科学和创新系统被理解为存在于经济之外的事物,将思想、产品和创新传递给社会,因此很容易将道德、责任和可持续性视为仅应在产品、流程或服务之后考虑的因素已被送达。然而,到那时,可能为时已晚。

几种锁定方式

此外,各部委和机构已经建立了基于新公共管理方法的实践。目标管理本身并不会损害以挑战为导向的政策制定。毕竟,目标是让机构在需要时有更多的自由来做出战略决策。尽管如此,治理仍倾向于针对现有指标,即为衡量很久以前建立的系统有效性而建立的统计数据。他们的成立是为了解决过去的问题。

所有这些因素都会导致多种锁定。资助科学和创新的系统奖励那些已经建立了“科学卓越”或“世界领先创新”能力的人。他们通常非常擅长解决现有系统内部和针对现有系统的问题,但不一定为新问题提供新的解决方案。当您面临不可持续的生产、消费和贸易系统或导致社会边缘化和不平等的压迫性信仰时,它们也不会为需要的那种系统性变革提供投入。

此外,可以理解的是,公务员对可预测性和责任的关注并不一定会带来创造力和创新。他们需要在他们自己的职责范围内——他们的孤岛——进行交付,这使得很难确保不同政策领域和机构之间的必要互动。我们在科学中看到了类似的趋势,即出版或灭亡的福音削弱了跨学科研究。

我们需要有创造力的领导者

决策过程的这种分散性也使得很难在学术界、工业界和政策机构中培养具有创造性、创新性和面向未来的领导者。当然,在可预测性和创造力之间必须有一个平衡,但这些类似机器的学习和生产模型提示了可预测性的平衡。游戏、实验和跳出框框思考的空间太小。

这使得他们所有人都更难处理意外情况,例如 Covid-19 等具体挑战,或气候变化和政治两极分化等重大系统性变化。

对整个系统的洞察

政策、科学和创新是为未来做好准备而建立的系统。毕竟,科学和创新是关于生产新的“事物”,政策制定者应该致力于在未来让世界变得更美好。

尽管如此,科学家和工业家很少反思他们的发明可能对整个社会产生的更广泛的影响。政策制定者倾向于将未来视为过去的更好版本。预测和预测是有用的工具,但它们不擅长预测不可预测的事情。

冠状病毒大流行使 2020 年对我们所有人来说都是充满挑战的一年,但它可能会带来一件好事:人们越来越意识到需要采用新方法应对未来。 Covid-19 危机是可以预见的。果然,早有预料。但是,对大流行造成的影响规模缺乏准备,可能会使政策制定中的未来素养发展合法化。在面临不可预测的危机和挑战时,这种创造性的学习可能是关键。

在此网站上,您将找到我们如何使用前瞻性思维和实践来帮助决策者和领导者在学习、创新和社会转型中利用未来的示例。

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Using Future Literacy in Norwegian Research and Innovation Policy

Blog

The reorientation of research and innovation policy towards societal challenges has led to a need for futures literacy in policy making. The Research Council of Norway, The University of Stavanger, The Nordic Institute for Studies in Innovation, Research and Education and the company Fremtenkt are experimenting with new types of anticipation practices and leadership. 

A reorientation towards societal challenges

There has been a significant reorientation of research and innovation policy development worldwide. Politicians and policy makers are increasingly making decisions on the basis of what is needed “out there”, instead of thinking of science and industrial innovation as engines of growth that will deliver wealth and prosperity by themselves, as long as there is sufficient funding.

The strong attention towards environmental and societal challenges – exemplified by the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals – has contributed to this reorientation.
Stuck in the past

However, policy makers worldwide, including in Norway, are struggling with finding ways to meet this reorientation with appropriate measures and instruments. The problem is not that they are unfamiliar with targeted and strategically oriented funding of research and innovation. Norwegian policy makers have long traditions for supporting such programs and instruments, but measures have often been based on a linear understanding of innovation processes: public money is put into the relevant research and innovation institutions and one hopes innovations will materialize!

Many of the major decisions regarding such funding are left to the scientists or the industrialists. Many of them are, after all, active members of the relevant expert committees, boards and decision-making institutions.

The overall ideological framework has been that the market knows best, or that scientists will produce the best results if left to their own devices/decide by themselves.

The fundamental problem with this “fund and forget” regime is that it does not create the conditions for open deliberation about the potential for negative effects resulting from innovation. As the science and innovation system is understood as something that exists outside the economy, delivering ideas, products and innovation into society, it becomes easy to think of ethics, responsibility and sustainability as factors that should only be considered after the product, process or service has been delivered. By that time, however, it may be too late.

Several kinds of lock-in

Furthermore, the ministries and agencies have established practices based on New Public Management approaches. Management by objectives is not detrimental to challenge oriented policy making in and for itself. The goal is, after all, to give institutions more freedom to make strategic decisions when needed. Still, there is a tendency for governance to target existing indicators, statistics that were established to measure the effectiveness of a system set up a long time ago. They were set up to solve the problems of the past.

All these factors lead to several kinds of lock-in. The systems for funding science and innovation reward those who have already built the capacity for “scientific excellence” or “world leading innovation”. They are often very good at solving problems within and for the existing system, but do not necessarily deliver new solutions to new problems. Nor do they give input to the kind of systemic change that is needed when you face unsustainable systems of production, consumption and trade or oppressive beliefs causing social marginalization and inequality.

Furthermore, the understandable focus on predictability and responsibility found among civil servants does not necessarily lead to creativity and innovation. Their need to deliver within their own area of responsibility – their silo –makes it hard to ensure the necessary interaction between various policy areas and institutions. We see a similar tendency in science, where the gospel of publish or perish weakens transdisciplinary research.

We need creative leaders

This fragmentation of the decision processes also makes it hard to develop creative, innovative and future oriented leaders within academia, industry and in policy institutions. There must be a balance between predictability and creativity, for sure, but these machine-like models of learning and production tips the balance in favor of predictability. There is too little room for play, experimentation and thinking outside the box.

This makes it much harder for all of them to handle the unexpected, being those concrete challenges – like Covid-19 – or big systemic shifts, like climate change and the polarization of politics.

Insight into the system as a whole

Policies, science and innovation are systems which are set up to prepare for the future. After all, science and innovation are about producing new “things” and policy makers are supposedly to work towards making the world a better place for all, in the future.

Still, scientists and industrialists rarely reflect on the wider effects their inventions may have on society as a whole. Policy makers have a tendency of seeing the future as a better version of the past. Prognoses and forecasting are useful tools, but they are not good at predicting the unpredictable.

The coronavirus pandemic has made 2020 a challenging year for all of us, but one good thing may come out of it: an increasing awareness about the need for new ways of addressing the future. The Covid-19 crisis could have been predicted. Indeed, it was predicted. But the lack of preparedness for the scale of impact that the pandemic has inflicted, may legitimize the development of futures literacy in policy development. This kind of creative learning may be key when facing unpredictable crises and challenges.

On this web site you will find examples of how we are using anticipatory thinking and practices to help policy makers and leaders to use the future in learning, innovation and social transformation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *